Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Studies Research Guide: Citation Searching

This guide will assist scholars in environmental studies with using the resources of Princeton University Library.

Web of Science

The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals. Under the "Select a Database" dropdown menu, you may choose specific databases or all of them.

True Cited Reference Searching

Cited Reference Search lets you find anything that has ever been cited from the 1.3 billion cited reference connections in the Web of Science Core Collection. Cited reference searching lets you track how any idea, innovation, or creative work has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected, and discover anyone who is citing your research worldwide.  Because of the various ways journals/sources are cited, this, the truest version of citation searching should be approached with caution, most likely limiting by author's name and year(s) of published article(s). Web of Science Training Portal

Google Scholar

Google has a specialized interface for searching the journal literature called Google Scholar that provides access to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Although it is not as standardized, thorough, or reliable as BIOSIS, Web of Science and other literature databases, Google Scholar is the simple interface that has its advantages of those who are less experienced with searching the literature.  Google Scholar results list times cited for many articles, and a link to those cited in Web of Science.  One must find the article first, the same as in most other databases including Scopus, which link to citing papers.

 

 

Google Scholar

Reference Librarian profile

Profile Photo
Emily Wild
ewild@princeton.edu
Contact:
212 Lewis Science Library
609-258-5484
Website