Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Literature Databases
Each of the services below act as indexes to the journal literature in the biological sciences, each has its own unique niche and purpose. Place the mouse over each link for a full description of each database.
Each of these databases has a unique list of journals that they commit to indexing. Some databases have broader subject and date coverage than others. Learning what each of these can and cannot do will be helpful when you need to quickly and efficiently find references.
There are more than 700 databases listed on the Princeton University Library's Articles and Databases page that cover a wide varity of subject areas. All databases are browsable by title and subject, here are examples of subject specific lists:Politics, Environmnent.
The list below is a small subset of the databases on the Princeton University Library's Articles and Databases page; start with these, but explore the full Articles and Databases page for more.
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (1971+)
Indexes serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. The major areas of coverage are: aquaculture, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, and environmental quality.
BIOSIS: Biological Abstracts (1926+)
With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks
Birds of North America Online
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. BNA is an online project of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and bird calls.
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences (1997+)
Interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of journals from subject area such as biology, medical sciences, earth sciences, environmental studies, pharmacy, public health and education. The database includes searchable tables, figures, and graphs.
Environment Index (1973+)
Abstract/index information for environmental policy and studies.
Environmental Impact Statements: Full-Text & Digests (1985+)
Unified access to ~10,000 digests of environmental impact statements since 1985, and ~1,700 full text statements since 2003. It is expected to grow. Where biodiversity is an issue, there may also be a Species Impact Statement included.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Abstracts (1967+)
Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately.
GeoRef (1785+ N. America; 1933+ Worldwide)
Index to the international geological literature from 1785 to present. The database covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR)
Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Content covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums and images; case studies, statistics and maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition (Colonial Period to 2000)
Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1976+)
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.
Human Population & Natural Resource Management
Covers human population and demography as well as natural resource management. Includes abstracts for scholarly journal literature, papers, reports, books and reviews.
Inspec and Compendex
Good for Engineering, Computer Science, Geosciences and Physics
International Political Science Abstracts (1989+)
Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions.
Searchable in different segments, depending on whether you want journal articles and reports, law reviews, or public laws and court decisions --both federal and state.
Medline (ISI Web of Knowledge) (1950+)
A National Library of Medicine database, covers more than 4000 journal titles and is international in scope. Much of the same data as PubMed but with the Web of Knowledge search interface
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (1974+)
Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world?s literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..
Index to worldwide information about migration, contraceptive methods, demography, family planning, maternal and child health, human fertility, population law and policy, sexually transmitted diseases, vital statistics, etc.
Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for 1996+
Web of Science (ISI) (1900+)
Note: Use Internet Explorer.
Provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975+)
Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, and economics.
Zoological Record (Biosis) (1864+)
Most comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 4,500 international serials plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications.
Reference Librarian profile