Skip to main content

Environmental Studies Research Guide: Reference Sources

This guide will assist scholars in environmental studies with using the resources of Princeton University Library.

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Earth

Electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Here is a sample article on environmental justice.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (1997+)

The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles on a broad range of biology related topics. This is an encyclopedia with in-depth, scholarly coverage of major concepts in the life sciences.

Here is a sample entry from the ELS written by EEB professor Peter R. Grant (go to the entry and open the PDF). In each ELS article, you will find the "References" and "Further Reading" sections helpful for developing your knowledge of the article topic.


AccessScience (2002+)

Includes The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition, McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

Here is a sample article from AccessScience on Island Biogeography.



Print Reference Sources

 Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopeida)
Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. In the Biology Library (SZ Reference), Call Number: QL7.G7813 2003


Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Five-Volume Set, 1-5
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. In the Biology Library (SZ Reference), Call Number: QH541.15.B56E539 2001
 Cover Art 

Using the Biological Literature : A Practical Guide. In the Biology Library (SZ Reference), Call Number: QH303.6 .D38 2002

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me