Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Standards
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) defines a standard as:
"A standard can be defined as a set of technical definitions and guidelines, “how to” instructions for designers, manufacturers, and users. Standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in almost every industry that relies on engineering components or equipment. Standards can run from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages, and are written by experts with knowledge and expertise in a particular field who sit on many committees."
Some print standards are also available in the library. To check if the library has a copy of a print standard, try searching in the Library Catalog.
Princeton Standards Subscription Databases
ASME Standards Collection
Full text electronic acccess to all current American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards and codes including biomedical devices, Boiler Pressure Vessel Code, construction, cranes and hoists, cutting tools, fasteners, flow measurement, fossil power, machine tools, nuclear, pipeline and piping, screw threads and more.
To access, click "Click here to access via institutional account" under the Sign in box in the upper right hand corner.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Includes standards and technical information which covers a broad range of engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. 1931+
IHS Standards Expert
Citation database for over 1.6 million engineering and technical industry standards and specifications. Princeton’s package includes full text access to Department of Defense (DoD) and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standards. Goldfire enhanced search provides results in related information sources. Users must register for a personal IHS Standards Expert account.
IUPAC Standards Online Database
Unique compilation of the internationally-binding standards and recommendations for chemistry and related fields created by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). These standards and recommendations, extracted from the IUPAC Journal Pure and Applied Chemistry (PAC), provide access to the authoritative information on chemical nomenclature, symbols, terminology, units, weights, measures, and similar scientific conventions.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References
Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.
MADCAD's eLibrary provides online access to building codes and standards. Princeton's package includes ACI, ASHRAE, FEMA, the ICC Codes (2000, 2012, 2015), ICC/ANSI, and several legacy code collections. After connecting to MADCAD, click "Proceed to eLibrary" to access subscribed content.
Full text database from Society for Automotive Engineering. Includes Standards, Technical Papers, Journal Articles and more.