Skip to Main Content

Women Public Policy Collections at Mudd Library

Section Description

The collections listed below feature the work of women and their contributions to economic development around the world. Economic development encompasses the ways in which a community is improved for the social and fiscal well-being of its people. The collections include those of individuals as well as the records of organizations.

You may also be interested to know that we have a guide dedicated to the Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library

Collection Descriptions

American Committee for Devastated France (1919-1926)

Extent: .075 linear feet, 2 boxes, 1 cabinet drawer

Call Number: MC026

Abstract: The American Committee for Devastated France collection contains the annual reports, promotional pamphlets and minutes of this post-World War I relief organization. Newspaper clippings and routine correspondence between the group's treasurer and other staff members are also included in the collection.

 

Eleanor L. Dulles Papers (1863-1989 (mostly 1955-1989)

Extent: 1.25 linear feet, 3 boxes

Call Number: MC229

Abstract: Eleanor L. Dulles (1895-1996) was an economic specialist for the U.S. State Department from 1942 to 1962. She was most prominently known for her work in rebuilding West Berlin from 1952 to 1960. Dulles's papers document her political writings after her retirement from the State Department in 1962, as well as her fundraising work with the John Foster Dulles Memorial Fund, and include drafts of her articles and books, topical files, and some correspondence.

 

Mina Mauerstein-Bail Papers (1985-2012)

Extent: 7.0 Linear feet, Seven boxes

Call Number: MC264

Abstract: Mina Mauerstein-Bail is a development professional with extensive international experience ni the links between health and economic development. These Papers include reports, study papers and background materials collected over the course of her career and reflecting her areas of expertise: HIV and development, water and sanitation, and supporting local government and community capacity to address HIV/AIDS issues.

 

Margaret Snyder Papers (1950-2012 (mostly 1970-1990)

Extent: 28.96 linear feet, 53 archival boxes, 2 cassette boxes, 4 oversize boxes, Digital Folders: 3, Digital Files: 9

Call Number: MC096

Abstract: Dr. Margaret Snyder was actively involved in women's economic and development issues in various regions of the world for more than three decades. She served as advisor to Kenya and East African Women's Seminars, Regional Advisor of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Vice President of the Sirleaf Market Women's Fund, co-founded the African Training and Research Center for Women, and was the Founding Director of the United Nations Development Fund for Women. The papers document Dr. Snyder's career, the organizations she worked for, and the projects conducted to help women across the globe.

Series 11: Sirleaf Women’s Market Fund Records (2003-2012)

Extent: 1 box, Digital Folders: 3, Digital Files: 9

Description: These materials document the activities of the Sirleaf Market Women's Fund (SMWF), an organization dedicated to supporting female traders in post-war Liberia and the larger market women movement in Africa. The records, often annotated by Snyder, include internal and external reports; minutes; memoranda of understanding and legal documents; work plans; personnel documents; email correspondence; grant proposals; financial documents such as budgets and tax returns; and other administrative materials. These records reflect SMWF's cooperative work with the Liberian government, the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (also known as UN Women), and the African Women's Development Fund (AWDF) to implement various support programs in attempts to bolster the economic development and empowerment of market women. Of particular note are the market surveys conducted in 2006 and 2007 of 83 different markets in Liberia. The materials also document the creation and internal workings of SMWF as a nonprofit organization.

Researchers should note that the initialism "FGE" stands for the Fund for Gender Equality, a grant-making program of UN Women. "RBA" stands for Regional Bureau for Africa, a project of the UNDP.

 

Women's World Banking Records (1964-2010 (mostly 1980-1996)

Extent: 142.96 linear feet, 226 boxes, Digital Folders: 217, Digital Files: 1,114

Call Number: MC198

Abstract:  Women's World Banking (WWB), one of the world's leaders in microenterprise financing, is a not-for-profit international financial institution founded in 1979 to facilitate the participation of poor women entrepreneurs in the modern economy at the local level, especially those who are generally without access to established financial institutions. The organization consists of an international network of affiliates (independent local institutions that provide a variety of financial and training services to meet the needs of local women) with a central coordinating office in New York City. WWB's records document the administration of the organization, mainly during the tenure of its first president, Michaela Walsh, and include founding documents, financial records, correspondence, records related to affiliates and other organizations, audiovisual materials, and the files of Michaela Walsh.‚Äč

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM