Skip to Main Content

Women Public Policy Collections at Mudd Library

Section Description

The collections listed below document the work of women in politics and policy formation.

All collection entries in this guide include the title, date span, and call number of the collection, as well as a brief abstract consisting of a biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. 

In addition, all of the collections are linked to their finding aid which provides additional detail about the scope and content of the collections, as well as complete folder listings. All entries in this online guide are also available within the Princeton University Library online catalog and Princeton University Library Finding Aids website

Collection Descriptions

‚ÄčEugene and Jerine Bird Papers (1932-2012 (mostly 1962-1984)

Extent: 15 linear feet, 15 boxes

Call Number: MC281

Abstract: Eugene Bird (1925-) is a retired Foreign Service Officer who served primarily in the Middle East. During Eugene Bird's tenure with the State Department, he and his family lived in Jerusalem, Beirut, Cairo, Bombay, New Delhi, and the Saudi Arabian cities of Jeddah and Dhahran. His wife, Jerine "Jerri" Bird (1926-2012), was an activist who started the nonprofit organization Partners for Peace, which sponsored speaking tours by Israeli and Palestinian women throughout the United States. The collection contains Eugene and Jerine Bird's personal and professional correspondence, subject files on the Middle East, and writings, especially pertaining to Jerine Bird's unpublished manuscript on Saudi Arabian women.

 

Frances de Chollet Collection (1941-1990 (mostly 1941-1946)

Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 1 box

Call Number: MC292

Abstract: Frances de Chollet (1900-1999) assisted Allen Dulles with obtaining the diaries of Galeazzo Ciano, the Foreign Minister of Italy from 1936-1943, from Ciano's wife, Edda, who was also the daughter of Benito Mussolini. The collection is mostly composed of correspondence written to Frances de Chollet from Edda Ciano, though letters from Allen Dulles and other correspondents are included to a lesser extent. The collection also contains a small amount of de Chollet's notes documenting her face-to-face meetings with Edda Ciano.

 

Carol Evans Collection on Adlai E. Stevenson (1953-1979)

Extent: 2.70 cubic feet, 6 boxes

Call Number: MC127

Abstract: Consists of papers retained by Carol Evans while she was secretary (1948-1961) of Stevenson and, later, assistant editor of The Papers of Adlai E. Stevenson (1972-1979), which were edited by Walter Johnson.

 

Peggy Lamson Collection on Roger Baldwin

Extent: 1.64 (1 archival box, 1 half-size archival box, 1 large cassette box, 1 microfiche box used to housed cassettes)

Call Number: MC082

Abstract: This collection contains interview transcripts, cassette tapes, and background material collected by Peggy Lamson for her authorized biography, Roger Baldwin, Founder of the American Civil Liberties Union: A Portrait. Much of the background material was provided, and in some cases annotated, by Baldwin and documents both his professional and personal life.

 

Anne Martindell Papers (1898-2008 (mostly 1968-1990)

Extent: 13.52 linear feet, 30 archival boxes, and 1 oversize box, Digital Folders: 2, Digital Files: 17

Call Number: MC203

Abstract: Anne Martindell was one of the first three women to serve in the New Jersey State Senate. After her four-year term ended in 1977, she served as director of the Office for Foreign Disaster Assistance, and was ambassador to New Zealand and Western Samoa for a two-year term. The papers document her career in politics and civil service, and also contain her unpublished memoirs and personal papers.

 

Mildred Harford Correspondence with Lana Peters (Svetlana Alliluyeva) (1973-2007)

Extent: 0.1 Linear feet

Call Number: MC265

Abstract: This collection contains letters, cards, photographs and clippings from Lana Peters (Svetlana Alliluyeva) to her friend Mildred Harford. After defecting from the Soviet Union, Peters lived a transitory life in the United States, at one point denouncing the west and returning to the USSR, and eventually returning to the United States, where she died in 2011.

 

Carol Pitchersky Papers (1963-2008)

Extent: 71 linear feet, 71 boxes

Call Number: MC210

Abstract: Carol Pitchersky (1947-2004) was a fundraiser and consultant who helped bring financial stability to dozens of public interest groups, notably the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). She served as Associate Director in charge of development and strategic planning at the ACLU and as a consultant to other prominent nonprofit organizations. The papers document Pitchersky's work as a fundraiser at the ACLU during the 1980s and for public interest groups in the 1970s and 1990s.

 

Livia Plaks Papers (1992-2012)

Extent: 5.0 Linear feet

Call Number: MC266

Abstract: Livia Plaks was a co-founder of the Princeton-based Project on Ethnic Relations (PER) and served as executive director. This collection includes publications, correspondence, subject files and photographs created by Plaks relating to the PER.

 

Owen W. and Janet K. Roberts Papers (1955-1960,1964-1966, 1991)

Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 1 box

Call Number: MC226

Abstract: The Owen W. and Janet K. Roberts Papers document the Roberts' time in Cairo, the Congo and Nigeria while Owen Roberts was a member of the Foreign Service.

 

Jessie Wilson Sayre Collection (1886-1933)

Extent: 2.92 linear feet, 7 boxes

Call Number: MC216

Abstract: Jessie Wilson Sayre was the daughter of U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and was a political activist. The Jessie Wilson Sayre Collection documents the close relationships amongst the Wilson and Axson families in the early twentieth century and provides details into their lives.

 

Nadine Strossen Papers (1979-2013)

Extent: 37.25 linear ft., 38 boxes

Call Number: MC258

Abstract: Nadine Strossen, former national board president of the American Civil Liberties Union, is a well-known civil libertarian, law professor and author. This collection consists of records generated by Nadine Strossen in her leadership roles with the American Civil Liberties Union and as professor of law at the New York Law School.

 

Kristen Timothy Papers (1990-2000 (mostly 1995)

Extent: 9.0 linear feet, 9 boxes

Call Number: MC251

Abstract: These records include the working papers of Kristen Timothy in preparation for the 1995 United Nations Fourth World Conference on Women held in Beijing. They contain materials that document the evolution of the Platform for Action adopted at the conference from a short statement of major campaigns for the international community to mount, drawing on the recommendations of three previous world conferences on women organized by the UN, to a major statement of policy goals in twelve critical areas of concern to women and girls globally.

 

Margaret Tutwiler Diaries (1989-1992)

Extent: 1.0 linear feet, 1 box

Call Number: MC252

Abstract: Four diaries document the work and life of Margaret Tutwiler during her time as Assistant Secretary of State during the George H. W. Bush presidential administration.

 

John and Janet Wallach Papers (circa 1973-1990)

Extent: 1 linear feet, 1 box

Call Number: MC220

Abstract: John Wallach was Foreign Affairs Editor of the Hearst Newspapers and Hearst News Service from 1968 to 1994 as well as an author and founder and President of Seeds of Peace, an international youth organization; Janet Wallach is a journalist, author, scholar, and President Emeritus of Seeds of Peace. The John and Janet Wallach Papers contain mostly interview transcripts and background information on topics relevant to John Wallach's career.

 

Dorothy Shipley White Photograph Collection (1890-1970)

Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 1 box of 149 photoprints, 75 negatives

Call Number: MC161

Abstract: The Dorothy Shipley White Collection encompasses two sets of photographs, one on the life of Charles deGaulle and the other on French Africa. White presumably collected the photographs in preparation for her book, Black Africa and deGaulle (Pennsylvania State University Press, 1979). Mrs. White sent the photographs and negatives of the deGaulle photographs to Princeton in 1989.

 

Ann Whitman Papers on John Foster Dulles (1952-1959)

Extent: 3.8 linear feet, 9 boxes

Call Number: MC172

Abstract: Ann Whitman (1908-1991) was personal secretary to President Dwight D. Eisenhower during both of his administrations and later served as chief of staff to Vice President Nelson A. Rockefeller. Whitman's Papers on John Foster Dulles consist of photocopies of a portion of Whitman's files concerning secretaries of state John Foster Dulles and Christian A. Herter. The majority of the files consist of correspondence of John Foster Dulles, often with President Eisenhower or United States government officials, and also include a small amount of similar material of Christian A. Herter.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM