Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Manuscript Lists, Catalogs & Databases
Manuscript Sources to 1600 (from Oxford / Grove Music Online)
Lengthy article from Grove Music Online listing and describing the main manuscript sources of music in use before 1600, arranged by subject matter and also chronologically. Click on "more" below for a detailed outline of the medieval contents. Use the article's sidebar to access these sections directly.
RISM-OPAC: International Inventory of Musical Sources
Open-access database of over 700,000 mainly manuscript sources, most written before 1800, from hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. This catalog gives public access to the RISM A/II series: Music Manuscripts after 1600. Search by composer, title, thematic catalog number, music incipit, library, etc.; some catalog entries include links to digitized sources. Sponsored by Répertoire international des sources musicales.
RISM: United Kingdom & Ireland
"This database holds details of the 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts preserved in libraries and archives in the UK and Ireland. It includes manuscripts from national, public and academic libraries, county and city record offices, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections."
The Swiss RISM records music manuscripts and printed musical sources in Swiss libraries and archives. Click on the "i" for more information.
Databases & Web Sites
Corpus Antiphonalium Officii -- Ecclesiarum Centralis Europae (The CAO-ECE Project)
Database, tables, and information on the medieval chant sources of central Europe. Maintained by the Institute for Musicology, Hungarian Academy of Sciences.
Database (as Excel spreadsheet) of manuscripts available in facsimile online. Presently contains over 1,000, mostly notated liturgical manuscripts
The Gregorian Chant Home Page on the World Wide Web
Maintained by Peter Jeffrey. No longer maintained, but still contains useful links and information.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes articles and other materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.
Machaut on the Web
Maintained by the International Machaut Society, a scholarly organization founded in 1985 and devoted to the study, criticism, performance, research, and exchange of ideas related to all aspects of the works of the poet and composer Guillaume de Machaut (ca. 1300-1377) and their manuscript and performance traditions.
Medieval Music Database
Maintained by La Trobe University. Browse options include text, composer, genre, manuscript, and liturgical feast, and searches by text, melody, and descriptor.
Analecta hymnica medii aevi digitalia
Full-text version of the 55-volume edition of 1886-1922, providing a very comprehensive collection of the texts of medieval Latin hymns and other sacred songs, with historical and bibliographical notes. Detailed electronic indexing allows for a variety of complex searches across the volumes.