Skip to main content

Gender & Sexuality Studies-LGBTQIA Resources

Finding Primary Sources

 

  • Consult the bibliography, notes and acknowledgments in a good, recent secondary work on the subject that interests you -- does the writer tell you where the primary sources can be found?
  • Can you identify an important person who was involved in the events you are studying? If he/she is famous, dead, and either British or American, consult the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography or American National Biography.The articles in both DNB and ANB generally have excellent bibliographies and will tell you where that person's papers may be found.
    • If you still haven't found that person's papers, search Worldcat for that person as an Author. You will find both published and unpublished material by that person.
  • Can you identify an organization that was involved in the events you are studying? Search Worldcat for that organization as an Author.
  • Search ArchiveGrid or Archive Finder , two databases that list archival collections in the U.S. and elsewhere.
  • To find printed subject guides to archival resources in the library catalogs, do a keyword search for a subject term plus archiv?, e.g. brewing and archiv?
  • Google your topic, using words like "papers" or "archives" as part of your search.

Libraries and Archives

LIBRARIES and ARCHIVES

Canadian Lesbian & Gay Archives, Toronto. .Internet Resource: <http://www.clga.ca/>

Cornell University Library.  Rare and Manuscript Collections. Human Sexuality Collection. Internet Resource: <http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/HSC/>.

Gay and Lesbian Archives of the Pacific Northwest. Internet Resource: <http://www.glapn.org/>

Gerber/Hart Library, Chicago. : Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Information Resource and Archives. Internet Resource: <http://www.gerberhart.org/>

Jewish GLBT Archives. Internet Resource: <http://www.onearchives.org/twiceblessed/index.html>.

Lavender Legacies Guide, Guide to Lesbian and Gay Archives in North America. Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists. Internet Resource. <http://www2.archivists.org/groups/lesbian-and-gay-archives-roundtable-lagar/lavender-legacies-guide>

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center. National Archive of Lesbian & Gay History. Internet Resource: <http://www.gaycenter.org/community/archive/>.

Lesbian Herstory Archives New York.. Internet Resource: <http://www.lesbianherstoryarchives.org/>. .

University of Southern California. ONE: National Gay & Lesbian Archives. Internet Resource <http://www.onearchives.org/>