Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 502: Writing a Persuasive Proposal in Quantitative Disiplines: Power tools for Engineers and Scientists

This guide will help graduate students in Engineering, Science and related fields to identify tools and resources for researching literature and funding information in your field.

Subject-Specific Databases

Click here to locate subject-specific databases in other areas.

Research Guides

For additional information about resources in your discipline, check out a research guide.

DOI? What is it and why do I need it?

A DOI (digital object identifier) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to a digital object such as an electronic journal article, a conference paper or a book chapter. A DOI uniquely identifies the content item and provides a persistent link to its location on the internet. Look for the DOI as part of reference lists or citations. If you know the DOI of a paper (looks like this: doi:10.1007/s10067-006-0283-5), you can find the paper using a DOI Resolver.

Open Access Publishing

The Debate

Science
Vol. 342  no. 6154  pp.  60-65                        
DOI:10.1126/science.342.6154.60

 

Web of Science (1900+)

Web of Science

A comprehensive citation tracking database with coverage from 1900 to the present. It provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching.

Scopus (1996+)

Welcome to Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for journal articles and conference papers from 1996 to the present.

INSPEC and Compendex

INSPEC and Compendex on Engineering Village

For all major engineering, computer science, physics and applied science topics these two databases represent the major access points to the literature. This is the place to start any literature search!

Medline/Pubmed

Medline and PubMed

National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.

SciFinder Web

SciFinder Web

Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of chemistry. Combines several Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. PU users must first register for a personal SciFinder Web account.

MathSciNet

MathSciNet

Bibliographic database with reviews of journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. 1941+

EconLit

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

PsycInfo

PsycInfo

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.