Authoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates. 17th Century+
Searchable database containing verified references (except as noted) to approximately 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.
American Revolution by Spencer Tucker; James R. Arnold; Roberta Wiener; Paul G. Pierpaoli; Paul David Nelson; Jim Piecuch
Call Number: Firestone E208 .A44 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
With more than 1,300 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of the American Revolution, this definitive scholarly reference covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation. This authoritative and complete encyclopedia covers not only the eight years of the American Revolutionary War (1775-1783) but also the decades leading up to the war, beginning with the French and Indian War, and the aftermath of the conflict, with an emphasis on the early American Republic. Volumes one through four contain a series of overview essays on the causes, course, and consequences of the American Revolution, followed by impeccably researched A-Z entries that address the full spectrum of political, social, and military matters that arose from the conflict. Each entry is cross-referenced to other entries and also lists books for further reading. In addition, there is a detailed bibliography, timeline, and glossary. A fifth volume is devoted to primary sources, each of which is accompanied by an insightful introduction that places the document in its proper historical context. The primary sources help readers to understand the myriad motivations behind the American Revolution; the diplomatic, military, and political maneuvering that took place during the conflict; and landmark documents that shaped the founding and early development of the United States. Contains more than 1,300 A-Z entries on various political, social, and military topics connected with the American Revolution Features contributions from more than 120 distinguished scholars and independent historians from a variety of disciplines Introduces entries with essays on the war's underlying causes and the events that catalyzed its outbreak, a synopsis of the war, and an analysis of its long-term impact Includes key documents relevant to the period, including Common Sense, the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, eyewitness battle accounts, speeches, and treaties Supplements entries with hundreds of illustrations depicting colonial and Revolutionary America, plus dozens of maps depicting major geopolitical relationships, large-scale military operations, and individual battles on land and sea Addresses all major Native American tribes involved in the conflict and their role in the war
The British Empire [2 Volumes] by Mark Doyle (Editor)
Call Number: Firestone DA16 .B693 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
An essential starting point for anyone wanting to learn about life in the largest empire in history, this two-volume work encapsulates the imperial experience from the 16th-21st centuries. From early sixteenth-century explorations to the handover of Hong Kong in 1997, the British Empire controlled outposts on every continent, spreading its people and ideas across the globe and profiting mightily in the process. The present state of our world--from its increasing interconnectedness to its vast inequalities and from the successful democracies of North America to the troubled regimes of Africa and the Middle East--can be traced, in large part, to the way in which Great Britain expanded and controlled its empire. The British Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia addresses a broader range of topics than do most other surveys of the empire, covering not only major political and military developments but also topics that have only recently come to serious scholarly attention, such as women's and gender history, art and architecture, indigenous histories and perspectives, and the construction of colonial knowledge and ideologies. By going beyond the "headline" events of the British Empire, this captivating work communicates the British imperial experience in its totality. Provides primary sources that give voice to the people who ran, opposed, and were subjects of the British Empire Consolidates the most up-to-date research from established and emerging scholars in the field in many countries and at many institutions Includes a detailed introduction that succinctly puts the British Empire into historical context Offers a chronology of events and episodes important to both the rise and fall of the British Empire Provides a broad range of perspectives that focus not only on the white men who controlled the British Empire but also on the many people--such as women, indigenous peoples, poor Europeans, and Christian missionaries--who formed it Avoids simplistic assessments of British imperialism as merely "good" or "bad," emanating an objectivity that enables readers to develop their own ideas about the nature of the empire
Call Number: Firestone Library - History Reference E162 .C68 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
No era in American history has been more fascinating to Americans, or more critical to the ultimate destiny of the United States, than the colonial era. Between the time that the first European settlers established a colony at Jamestown in 1607 through the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the outlines of America's distinctive political culture, economic system, social life, and cultural patterns had begun to emerge. Designed to complement the high school American history curriculum as well as undergraduate survey courses, "Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History" captures it all: the people, institutions, ideas, and events of the first three hundred years of American history. While it focuses on the thirteen British colonies stretching along the Atlantic, Colonial America sets this history in its larger contexts. Entries also cover Canada, the American Southwest and Mexico, and the Caribbean and Atlantic world directly impacting the history of the thirteen colonies. This encyclopedia explores the complete early history of what would become the United States, including portraits of Native American life in the immediate pre-contact period, early Spanish exploration, and the first settlements by Spanish, French, Dutch, Swedish, and English colonists. This monumental five-volume set brings America's colonial heritage vibrantly to life for today's readers. It includes: thematic essays on major issues and topics; detailed A-Z entries on hundreds of people, institutions, events, and ideas; thematic and regional chronologies; hundreds of illustrations; primary documents; and a glossary and multiple indexes.
It is impossible to understand America without understanding the history of African Americans. In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period-from the arrival of the firstslave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass-and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.The Encyclopedia covers an extraordinary range of subjects. Major topics such as "Abolitionism," "Black Nationalism," the "Civil War," the "Dred Scott case," "Reconstruction," "Slave Rebellions and Insurrections," the "Underground Railroad," and "Voting Rights" are given the in-depth treatment onewould expect. But the encyclopedia also contains hundreds of fascinating entries on less obvious subjects, such as the "African Grove Theatre," "Black Seafarers," "Buffalo Soldiers," the "Catholic Church and African Americans," "Cemeteries and Burials," "Gender," "Midwifery," "New York African FreeSchools," "Oratory and Verbal Arts," "Religion and Slavery," the "Secret Six," and much more. In addition, the Encyclopedia offers brief biographies of important African Americans-as well as white Americans who have played a significant role in African American history-from Crispus Attucks, JohnBrown, and Henry Ward Beecher to Olaudah Equiano, Frederick Douglass, Sarah Grimke, Sojourner Truth, Nat Turner, Phillis Wheatley, and many others.All of the Encyclopedia's alphabetically arranged entries are accessibly written and free of jargon and technical terms. To facilitate ease of use, many composite entries gather similar topics under one headword. The entry for Slave Narratives, for example, includes three subentries: The SlaveNarrative in America from the Colonial Period to the Civil War, Interpreting Slave Narratives, and African and British Slave Narratives. A headnote detailing the various subentries introduces each composite entry. Selective bibliographies and cross-references appear at the end of each article todirect readers to related articles within the Encyclopedia and to primary sources and scholarly works beyond it. A topical outline, chronology of major events, nearly 300 black and white illustrations, and comprehensive index further enhance the work's usefulness.
This new four-volume encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource available on the history of Native Americans, providing a lively, authoritative survey ranging from human origins to present-day controversies. From the origins of Native American cultures through the years of colonialism and non-Native expansion to the present, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings the story of Native Americans to life like no other previous reference on the subject. Featuring the work of many of the field's foremost scholars, it explores this fundamental and foundational aspect of the American experience with extraordinary depth, breadth, and currency, carefully balancing the perspectives of both Native and non-Native Americans. Encyclopedia of American Indian History spans the centuries with three thematically organized volumes (covering the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty). Each volume includes entries on key events, places, people, and issues. The fourth volume is an alphabetically organized resource providing histories of Native American nations, as well as an extensive chronology, topic finder, bibliography, and glossary. For students, historians, or anyone interested in the Native American experience, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings that experience to life in an unprecedented way. Approximately 450 entries within four separate volumes Approximately 110 contributors from among the foremost scholars in the fields, including Troy Johnson on self-determination movements, Richard King on sports mascots, and Jon Rehyner on recovery of Native languages Hundreds of images, including illustrations, photographs, and maps A series of helpful research tools rounding out the fourth volume, including an extensive chronology, topical bibliography, and a comprehensive index
Traces the development of the ideas, customs, and institutions that constitute the American cultural identity through 670 articles by specialists in history, law, religion, literature, art, music, African American studies, women's studies, and science and technology.
Call Number: Firestone Library - History Reference E45 .E53 1993
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
This groundbreaking compendium covers the colonial experience from the 11th-century Norse settlers in Newfoundland to the Spanish in New Mexico and the Russians in 1850s Alaska. Articles speak to the daily circumstances, historical events and prevailing climates of thought that gave shape and purpose to people's lives during the centuries of imperial expansion and settlement.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of War and American Society, Three-Volume Set. The impact of war on American society has been extensive throughout its nation′s history. War has transformed economic patterns, government policy, public sentiments, social trends and cultural expression. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive, highly-credentialed multidisciplinary historical work that examines the numerous ways wars affect societies. The Three-Volume Set cover a wide range of general thematic categories, issues and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the United States engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena. Key features include: - a discussion of the three types of effects of war - direct effects, interactive relationships and indirect effects - to illustrate the range of connections between war and American society; - an exploration of the correlations between wartime expeditions and the experiences of the greater American society, not limited to just the war years but also demonstrating how wartime event impacted society after the conflicts ended; - a host of documents including passages from letters, diaries, autobiographies, official documents, novels, poems, songs and cartoons, as well as images, graphs and a number of tables of relevant data, surveys and public opinion polls to extend the research capabilities of this reference work; - a focus on the last 100 years to give more coverage to this, often neglected, wartime era. Key Themes: Arts and Culture Civil-Military Relations Economy and Labor Education (both military and civilian) Environment and Health Journalism and Media Law and Justice Planning, Command and Control Race, Gender, and Ethnicity Religion Science and Technology Veterans′ Issues and Experiences The Wars themselves and their civilian and military leaders The Encyclopedia of War and American Society is a `must-have′ reference for all academic libraries as well as a welcome addition to any social science reference collection.
This exhaustive four-volume set is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate Americandiplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.Entries will be written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented, as is appropriate for an encyclopedia of diplomacy, with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.The crucial importance of the subject is reflected in the popularity of university courses dedicated to diplomatic and military history and the enduring appeal of international relations (IR) as a political science discipline drawing on both. The Oxford Encyclopedia will be a basic reference toolacross both disciplines - a potentially very significant market.
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History - An Encyclopedia by Steven L. Danver (Editor)
Call Number: Firestone Library - History Reference HN57 .R48 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
This three-volume work traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century. America has a long history of rebellions extending back before 1776. Revolts have taken place because of economic hard times, the denial of civil rights, racism, sexism, and classism. Studying the reasons for and results of these uprisings provides a window into the life of the American body politic--and what moves the American people to action. Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia details the history of popular actions from the colonial era to the 20th century. Each event in the three-volume encyclopedia is covered by an overview entry that details who was involved, why the revolt took place, what happened, and what the aftereffects were. Shorter subentries provide further detail on the important people, places, events, and ideas that were a part of the action. By presenting both the broad themes and the specifics, the encyclopedia enables readers to gain a general knowledge of the event or drill down to acquire a greater understanding. 71 chronologically arranged entries detail the revolts and uprisings that have shaped the history of the United States, with 2-5 subentries that drill down into those histories Each entry includes an overview essay, followed by entries on related people, groups, organizations, ideas, and places, along with select primary sources Contributions come from a distinguished group of American historians from across the nation and across historical disciplines One volume is comprised entirely of primary source documents Illustrations and photographs show events discussed
A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects_social, political, and economic_of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction. For 250 years, slavery was part of the fabric of American life. The institution had an enormous economic impact and was central to the wealth of the agrarian South. It had as great an impact on American culture, cementing racism and other attitudes that echo into the present. This encyclopedia is an ambitious examination of all the issues surrounding slavery: the origins, the justifications, the controversies, and the human drama. These volumes represent the work of 75 distinguished scholars from around the world. Ten thematic essays present a thorough examination of slavery and slave culture, including a rare treatment of slavery from the slave's point of view. Three hundred A_Z entries provide instant access to specific people, issues, and events. Today, slavery's immorality seems obvious. This encyclopedia provides the student or general reader with an in-depth explanation of how the practice evolved and was normalized, then anathematized and abolished. Ten major essays and 300 A_Z entries cover all aspects of slavery Over 100 contributors represent the finest scholarship worldwide on the topic An impressive collection of 150 original documents illustrate both popular and official attitudes toward slavery The massive bibliography is the most complete and up-to-date available
The World of the American Revolution by Merril D. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Firestone E163 .W67 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-28
This two-volume set brings to life the daily thoughts and routines of men and women--rich and poor, of various cultures, religions, races, and beliefs--during a time of great political, social, economic, and legal turmoil. What was life really like for ordinary people during the American Revolution? What did they eat, wear, believe in, and think about? What did they do for fun? This encyclopedia explores the lives of men, women, and children--of European, Native American, and African descent--through the window of social, cultural, and material history. The two-volume set spans the period from 1774 to 1800, drawing on the most current research to illuminate people's emotional lives, interactions, opinions, views, beliefs, and intimate relationships, as well as connections between the individual and the greater world. The encyclopedia features more than 200 entries divided into topical sections, each dealing with a different aspect of cultural life--for example, Arts, Food and Drink, and Politics and Warfare. Each section opens with an introductory essay, followed by A-Z entries on various aspects of the subject area. Sidebars and primary documents enhance the learning experience. Targeting high school and college students, the title supports the American history core curriculum and the current emphasis on social history. Most importantly, its focus on the realities of daily life, rather than on dates and battles, will help students identify with and learn about this formative period of American history. Provides summaries of what people ate, wore, and read and also includes topics such as apprenticeships, camp life and military training Covers ordinary routines of daily life, such as cleanliness, use of privies, and menstruation Starts each thematic section with a brief introduction Includes primary documents that bring the past to life and are an important resource for students Offers further reading suggestions after each entry as well as a bibliography of print books, online sources, and relevant films