Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Scores: A Guide to Online Notated Music Sources: Other Resources & Update Archive

Located here: 1) an alphabetical list of resources considered for the main guide but omitted because they did not meet the criteria for inclusion (see introduction); 2) defunct or long-inactive websites; and 3) an archive of older site update postings.

Resources Examined but Not Separately Cited in This Guide

Defunct or Long-Inactive Sites

Archive of Earlier Site Updates from Home Page

-- June 3, 2017: newly added: Finding Scores Online (RL);  (DIGMA, MDZ Digitale Bibliothek (both MLC); Early Music Online (MEI); Gilbert and Sullivan Archive (MCE); Fondo de Música Tradicional (OR).

-- May 29, 2017: newly added: Digital Scores & Libretti (Harvard) (MLC); Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (PS); updated in MEI: DIAMM, Répertoire des manuscrits médiévaux notés.

-- May 28, 2017: newly added: Cambridge Digital Library, Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive, Doria, Federacja Bibliotek Cyfrowych (FBC) (all MLC); Band Music from the Civil War Era; Classical String Quartets (both in STC); Codices Electronici Sangallenses, C.P.E. Bach Complete Works, Bruckner Online, e-codices (all MEI); Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection (in SM); CCARH (in PUS); updated in STC: St. Petersburg Score Collection; updated in MCE: C.M.M.E. Project.

-- May 23, 2017: newly added: Austrian National Library & DIGAR Digitaalarhiiv (both MLC)

-- Feb. 26, 2017: newly added: Women Composers Collection (STC); category Smaller Collections (SC) changed to Smaller & Topical Collections (STC).

-- Oct. 30, 2016: newly added: Museopen (PS); Chopin's First Editions Online; Arnold Schönberg Center (both MEI); NewMusicalTheatre.com (PUS); updated in PUS: Musicnotes.com.

-- Oct. 26, 2016: newly added: Opera and Ballet Primary Sources (BYU) (PS); American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910 (MEI); Archive of Seventeenth-Century Italian Madrigals and Arias and Online Music Anthology (A-R Editions) (both MCE); Bärenreiter Study Score Reader App (PV); updated in MCE: NMA Online (Digital Mozart Edition).

-- Oct. 25, 2016: newly added: Internet Archive (PS); Internet Culturale (MLC); American Sacred Music (SC); Schubert Online and Schumann Autographs (University Library, Bonn) (both to MEI); The Moldenhauer Archives (LC) and Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana (LC) (both SM); updated in SC: Virtual Music Rare Book Room; updated in SM: Sheet Music Consortium, World War I Sheet Music (LC), Yiddish American Popular Sheet Music (LC), Yiddish Sheet Music (Brown)

-- Oct. 19, 2016: newly added: NewMusicShelf.com and My Score (J. W. Pepper) (both CAMJ).

-- Sept. 18, 2016: newly added: Trove (National Library of Australia), Juilliard Manuscript Collection, The Morgan Library & Museum, Saxon State and University Library Dresden. Music and Theatre Library of Sweden (all MLC); Josquin Research Project (MCE); updated in MLC: Library of Congress, New York Public Library, Sibley Music Library.

-- Aug. 26, 2016: newly added: Digital Sheet Music Archives, launched same date (RL); Ignaz Pleyel Early Editions (M&EI); Digital Library of Slovenia, Polona (both MLC); African American Sheet Music (SC); Carl Nielsen Edition (MCE).

-- Aug. 16, 2016: updates: RISM, Répertoire des manuscrits médiévaux notés (both M&EI); Henle (P&V).

-- Aug. 16, 2016: work resumed on guide following its initial announcement and prototype demonstration at 2016 IAML Meeting in Rome, July 7.