Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Included here are intermediary resources that offer search engines to discover and link to digitized scores hosted by libraries and other collections or loaded directly on the portal site.
In Library Collections
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI): Scores
Targeted scores collection (from the homepage) combines the document types printed and manuscript music (música impresa / manuscript), totaling over 33,600 titles on 20 June 2017. Project launched and overseen by the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA) to create a portal to the digital resources of all the participating libraries
from Iberia and Latin America (presently the national libraries of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Panama, Portugal, Spain, and Uruguay). "Free access to the Ibero-American digital cultural heritage."
MT-Katalog, Hochschule für Musik und Theater "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" Leipzig: Online Scores
This search limited to "Online-Ressourcen" + "Noten" in the HMT Bibliothek catalog combines this library's large digital collection of music sources with online scores found in IMSLP, Gallica, RISM, the Music Treasures Consortium, and the catalogs of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, the Sibley Music Library, and many other institutions to produce an integrated set of over 155,000 records for "Noten online." Limit search by individual collections in the right sidebar under "Datensammlung."
Music Treasures Consortium
Hosted by the Library of Congress. Member institutions: Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Beethoven-Haus, British Library, Harvard University, Juilliard School, Library of Congress, Morgan Library & Museum, New York Public Library, The Newberry, Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University, Princeton University, University of Iowa, University of Washington, and Yale University.
Open Music Library: Scores
Hosted by Alexander Street / ProQuest. Launched in 2015. As of 17 October 2017, still lacks a robust search engine for score materials, relying instead on broad keyword searches and tags for genre-period and featured composers.
Opera and Ballet Primary Sources: A Guide to Digital Scores, Libretti, and Documents (Brigham Young University)
An expanding, virtual index (with image links) of over 31,000 digitized primary sources for opera and ballet research collected from libraries and archives worldwide. Includes scores, sets of parts, librettos, mis en scène
examples, sketches, and other documents. The advanced search
"Format" and "Print/Manuscript" boxes in the OBPS enable refined searching of score content.
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project): Petrucci Music Library
Self-promoted as "the world's biggest freely accessible music score library online," with over 411,900 scores (as of 17 October 2017). Annual subscription fee enhances delivery and offers other services. Lacks a robust search engine and depends heavily on categories to browse materials. Widely known and commonly regarded as the "first stop" for locating digital scores. IMSLP appropriates most of its digital assets from other library collections. The site is governed by Canadian copyright law; not all available scores are in the public domain in the United States.
Internet Archive: Advanced Search
A digital archive of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts, including books, audio and video recordings, software, scores, websites, and much more. Scores are subsumed under the media type "texts" and are not retrievable by one search option from advanced search. The most results come from a combined subject/topic search (within description "scores") scores/operas/music
. (Explore the "more" option for additional topics to add to search.) Another smaller (and messier) option is a separate description search on "sheet music"
LibraryMusicSource.com (Library Music Source)
Click here for Princeton access
. A fee-based portal for CD Sheet Music and the Orchestra Musicians' CD-ROM Library that provides a downloadable digital library of public-domain scores, sheet music, and performance parts of standard and less common classical repertoire for piano, organ, guitar, chamber ensemble, orchestra, voice, and chorus, including vocal scores of complete operas, oratorios, and cantatas.
Musopen: Sheet Music
Browse public domain, copyright free sheet music by composer, instrument, form, or time period. Non-profit organization "focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials" operating out of Palo Alto, California.