Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mostly public domain (out-of-copyright) music published from the 1830s-1840s through 1922 (some collections have a broader range), often 2-16 pages in length. Commonly called "sheet music," primarily intended for pianists or singers / instrumentalists.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana
Portal for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society for sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists, or publishers, as well as music about the state.
Sheet Music Consortium
Portal site for searching across the shared metadata from over 40 digitized sheet music collections held by research libraries in the United States, Canada, the U.K., and Australia (listed here
). Continually expanding, currently with over 350,000 titles. Hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program.
Sheet Music Collection: Sheet Music from Canada's Past (Library and Archives Canada)
Source for digitized sheet music published in Canada before 1921 as well as music by Canadians or about Canada published internationally. Includes patriotic and parlor songs, piano pieces, sacred music, and novelty numbers.
Themed Library Collections: United States
African American Sheet Music (Brown University)
Contains over 1,450 publications of minstrelsy, abolitionist, Civil War, Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, and World War I-era music and early African American musical theater dating 1820s to early 1920s.
The Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana: Notated Music (Library of Congress)
A collection of mixed materials, including sheet music, documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln, slavery, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Civil War Sheet Music Collection (Library of Congress)
Over 2,500 pieces focused on the American Civil War (1861-65).
Early American Sheet Music (Library of Congress)
Includes nearly 2,500 examples of music printed or "copied in manuscript" in the United States or the colonies through 1820. Forms an early record of musical life in America and the colonial period.
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection (University of Washington)
Focuses on music about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, including materials from the Ashford Collection.
World War I Sheet Music (Library of Congress)
Contains nearly 13,500 commercial publications, vanity press editions of amateur compositions, and unpublished manuscripts acquired by the Library of Congress between 1914 and 1920 documenting World War I in American popular culture
Yiddish American Popular Sheet Music (Library of Congress)
Contains over 1,300 Yiddish American popular songs published through 1922 compiled from the Irene Heskes Collection (drawn from the archives of the Hebrew Publishing Company in New York) and other Library of Congress holdings.
Yiddish Sheet Music (Brown University)
Small collection of over 300 titles focused on the Yiddish-language musical stage, plus art songs, Hebrew and Yiddish language folk songs, and religious music.