Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streamed jazz recordings, covering major and secondary artists, ensembles, labels, and genres, ranging from historical recordings to musicians performing and recording today. Part of Alexander Street's Music Online. Updated regularly.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Aimed at jazz music enthusiasts, provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by over 32,000 artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on over 200 labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy.
Popular & Ethnic Music
Music Online: American Music (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.
Music Industry Data
Licensed datasets from Billboard, the Official Charts Company (UK), GfK Entertainment (Germany), and many other international reporting agencies that chart & rank the sales of top recorded popular music albums & singles from the 1950s to current. Also provides streaming audio links to copyright-cleared sound samples for most cited tracks & albums, and links to articles in popular music journals & on websites. Tools allow users to graph, analyze, compare, and contrast musical trends & interactions, and to extract & compare charting data for sound recording sales.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio resource providing a blend of contemporary and traditional world music from every continent, including fusion, world beat, reggae, African and Bollywood film music, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, gamelan, and more.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.