Skip to main content

WRI 196: Decoding Dress: News & Documentaries

For the freshmen writing seminar Decoding Dress (WRI 196/197) taught in winter/spring 2018 by Erin Vearncombe.

Newspapers and Print News

US Newstream (ProQuest)

  • Provides full text of the New York Times (1995+), Wall Street Journal (1982+), Los Angeles Times (1985+), the Chicago Tribune (1985+), and many other newspapers.

Google News

  • Pulls together related headlines and photos from Internet news sources worldwide.
  • Stories are updated continuously throughout the day--useful for breaking news.
  • Enables you to see how different news organizations around the world report the same events.

NewsBank (Access World News)

  • Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world.
  • Use the clickable map to select a country or state to search.

LexisNexis Academic

  • Provides full text access to news from across the U.S. and around the world.
  • Coverage of most newspapers goes back to the mid 1980s, but varies widely.
  • Click on the News tab at the top to begin your search.

Newspapers at Princeton

  • Provides links to all the major national and international newspapers in electronic format available to Princeton users.

Media News and Documentaries

Public Broadcasting System

  • Site highlights PBS news-related programs, including Frontline, POV, NOW, NewsHour and NOVA.
  • Transcripts, audio, and video files of previous broadcasts are available.
  • Podcasts and RSS are available on this site.

National Public Radio

  • Internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming.
  • Provides a searchable, full-audio archive of programs back to 1996.