Skip to main content

Guide to the American Civil Liberties Union Records

Guide to the ACLU Records and related collections located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Affiliate, Chapter, and Branch Collections

Each ACLU affiliate is responsible for managing its records and archives. Many affiliates have partnered with other institutions to establish a repository for their archives; please find links to these collections' finding aids listed below.

Arkansas
ACLU Of Arkansas Materials (MC 1580), Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville

Related Collection
Brownie Ledbetter Papers, MSS.99.36, Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, Arkansas Studies Institute

Arizona
Arizona Civil Liberties Union Records (AZ 182). Special Collections, University of Arizona Libraries

Northern California
American Civil Liberties Union of Northern California Records, MS 3580, California Historical Society

Southern California
American Civil Liberties Union of Southern California Records (Collection 900). UCLA Library Special Collections, Charles E. Young Research Library, UCLA

Connecticut
Connecticut Civil Liberties Union Records. Archives & Special Collections at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center, University of Connecticut Libraries

Florida
American Civil Liberties Union of Florida Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida

Florida Pinellas County Chapter
American Civil Liberties Union, Pinellas County Chapter Records. Nelson Poynter Memorial Library, Special Collections and University Archives, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg

Georgia
American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia Records, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, University of Georgia Libraries

Related Collections

Illinois
American Civil Liberties Union Illinois Division Records, Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library

Kentucky
Kentucky Civil Liberties Union Records, University Archives and Records Center, University of Louisville

Louisiana
ACLU of Louisiana Records, Manuscripts Collection 661, Louisiana Research Collection, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, Tulane University

Maryland
American Civil Liberties Union of Maryland Records, Langsdale Library Special Collections, University of Baltimore

Massachusetts
American Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts Records, Massachusetts Historical Society

Massachusetts Hampshire-Franklin County Chapter
Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts Hampshire-Franklin County Chapter Records (MS 303). Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries

Michigan Ann Arbor Washtenaw County Branch
American Civil Liberties Union of Washtenaw County Records, Bentley Historical Library, University of Michigan

Michigan Metropolitan Detroit Branch
American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan Metropolitan Detroit Branch Collection, Walter P. Reuther Library, Wayne State University

Michigan Oakland County Branch
American Civil Liberties Union Oakland County Branch Records, Walter P. Reuther Library, Wayne State University

Minnesota
Minnesota Civil Liberties Union Records, Minnesota Historical Society

Missouri
American Civil Liberties Union of Missouri Records (WUA00355). University Archives, Washington University in St. Louis.

Mid-Missouri Chapter
American Civil Liberties Union Mid-Missouri Chapter Records, The State Historical Society of Missouri Manuscript Collection

Nevada
American Civil Liberties Union of Nevada Records, 99-18. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Reno

North Carolina
American Civil Liberties Union of North Carolina Records, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University

Related Collection
Betsy Brinson Papers, Virginia Historical Society

North Dakota
North Dakota Chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union Records. OGLMC 1221.  Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections, Chester Fritz Library, University of North Dakota

Ohio
American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio Records, Ohio Historical Society

Related Collection
ACLU of Ohio Kent State Project Records (MS 1800), Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library

Ohio Akron Chapter
University of Akron Archival Services

Ohio Dayton Chapter
American Civil Liberties Union Dayton Chapter (MS - 268), Department of Archives and Special Collections, Wright State University Libraries

Pennsylvania
Related Collection
American Civil Liberties Records (CDGA), Swarthmore College Peace Collection

Pennsylvania Philadelphia Chapter
Related Collections

Pennsylvania Greater Pittsburgh Chapter
Related Collection
John Marion Lofton Papers, South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

Rhode Island
Brown University ACLU Records, Brown University Library

Texas Dallas Chapter
Texas Civil Liberties Union, Dallas Chapter Records, AR82, Special Collections, The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries

Utah
American Civil Liberties Union of Utah Records, Ms 650. Special Collections and Archives, J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah

Utah Logan Chapter
American Civil Liberties Union, Logan Chapter Records. Special Collections and Archives Division, Utah State University

Related Collection
American Civil Liberties Union versus the Logan School District Collection. Special Collections and Archives Division, Utah State University

Virginia
Records of the ACLU of Virginia, MSS 85-2, Special Collections, University of Virginia Law School Library

Washington
American Civil Liberties Union of Washington Records, University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections

Washington Whatcom County Chapter
American Civil Liberties Union - Whatcom County Chapter Records, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University

Wisconsin
Wisconsin Civil Liberties Union Records, Wisconsin Historical Society