Skip to main content

Iranian Cinema

Tips for searching the Main Catalog

  • Romanization: Princeton University Library uses the American Library Association and the Library of Congress (ALA-LC) approved Romanization Table for their transliteration of the Persian language into Roman script.  If you are having trouble locating works in your Main Catalog search, check to be sure you are using the correct transliteration. A link to the current ALA-LC approved Romanization Table for the Persian language has been provided here.
  • Refining your search limits: It is also possible to set more limits--such as language, medium, and item type--to your search criteria. Simply click on "more limits", located within the orange bar to the right of the Search/Reset icons, and select accordingly. 
  • Useful "Subject Heading" Searches: 
    • Motion Pictures--Iran
    • Motion Pictures and Literature--Iran
    • Iran--Drama
    • Persian Drama
    • Feature Films--Iran
    • Popular Culture--Iran
    • Film Festivals--Iran
    • Film Posters
    • Shi'ah--Iran--in motion pictures

Working with secondary source materials

"A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them."-Princeton University RefDesk webpage.

 

The Near East book Collection (NEC) at Princeton University Library contains approximately 457,596 printed books in Arabic, Hebrew, Persian and Turkish and is one of the greatest collections of its kind in the United States. 

The Near East Periodicals Collection (PRNE) of contemporary serials and newspapers are acquired on a regular basis from around the world.  The library currently receives approximately 2,000 active serial publications in Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish, Urdu, and many Western languages.

The Microforms Collections parallel the general holdings of selected books, newspapers, manuscripts, government publications, dissertations, and other materials at Princeton University.

Marquand Library of Art & Archaeology is one of the oldest and most extensive art libraries in the United States.  The collection holds approximately 400,000 volumes, covering world art and architecture from antiquity to present, including distinguished 15th-21st century rare book holdings.

Common library-related problems

  • I am off campus and need access to Princeton's digital resources.
    See Connect from off campus for detailed instructions on how to set up your computer for remote access.
  • I want an article from a journal, but I can't find it online.
    See Why Can't I Find That Article?
  • I'm having a problem with one of the online databases or an electronic journal.
    First, if you didn't access the database through the link on the library's Databases list, try that. If you are on campus, try a different computer or a different web browser. It sometimes helps to empty your web browser cache. Still have a problem? Use the form at http://library.princeton.edu/help/report-problem to report the problem: library staff will investigate. Be specific: what browser/operating system are you using? At what time did you encounter a problem? What error messages did you get? Be patient -- this may take some time. If you are not on campus, see the first item above. 
  • The item I want is not owned by Princeton.
    • If Princeton owns the book you need, but it is checked out, consider recalling it.
    • If you don’t have time to wait (ten days for a recall), use Borrow Direct. This service makes it possible for Princeton students to borrow copies of books owned by other Ivy League libraries plus several other important university libraries. Generally, the books arrive within four days.
    • If Borrow Direct cannot supply what you need, you may place an Interlibrary Loan request for the item. Note that most libraries will not lend original documents, rare books, or books that are fragile or already damaged.
  • The item I want is in ... RECAP, Annex, In Process, On Order, In the pre-order process, etc.
    Use the request forms linked from the catalog to place requests for RECAP, Annex, and In Process books. Books described as "on order" or "in the pre-order process" are on order but have not yet arrived at Firestone Library.
  • The item I want is not on the shelf.
    If the item is not charged out, check the catalog record -- are you in the right place? Perhaps the item is oversized or not in Firestone. If you are sure you are in the right place, but the book is missing, place a trace request. Library staff will search for the book and notify you if it is found.
  • I want to see an item that is in Rare Books and Special Collections or Mudd Manuscript Library.
    If you haven't used materials in RBSC before, begin by registering for a research account.   Also consult the RBSC web pages for information on hours, photocopying, and other practical matters.