WRI 175/176 Mythconceptions

Best for 20th century

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. 1740-1940.

Research guide to economic statistics for the United States.

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States. Includes some data from international surveys.

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.

Contains over 1,500 audio-visual items found within the University Archives. 1912-2000

Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news. Streamed video access to NBC and CNN content; other network content available for loan for a fee. Place loan requests through Interlibrary Loan; depending on costs, fees may be covered.

Collection of American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s.

Over 5,000 play scripts, 900 scholarly theater books, and streaming content from the National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, Shakespeare’s Globe, Stratford Festival, L.A. Theatre Works, and many more.

A large collection of English-language plays from the late 1800s to the early 2000s. It features plays from over 300 well- and lesser-known dramatists.

Full-text access to over 40,000 poems by over 200 poets. 1600-1900

Brings together over 100,000 of the most important and influential poems representing the full range of movements and traditions in American poetry from 1900 to the present.