Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Encyclopedias are great ways to get background information and understand the terms used to describe topics.
Discipline Specific Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Computer Graphics and Games
ISBN: 3031231619Publication Date: 2024The ECGG covers the history, technologies, and trends of computer graphics and games. -
Encyclopedia of Psychology
by
ISBN: 1557986509Publication Date: 2000-01-01"The American Psychological Association, under the editorial direction of Alan Kazdin, has produced an exceptional multidisciplinary and multicultural encyclopedia."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. -
Encyclopedia of Robotics
ISBN: 9783642416101Publication Date: 2020The encyclopedia is a work that comprehensively explains the scientific, application-based, interactive, and socio-ethical parameters of robotics. -
Oxford Handbook of the Ethics of AI
ISBN: 9780190067403Publication Date: 2020This book explores the intertwining domains of artificial intelligence (AI) and ethics-two highly divergent fields which at first seem to have nothing to do with one another. AI is a collection of computational methods for studying human knowledge, learning, and behavior, including by building agents able to know, learn, and behave. Ethics is a body of human knowledge-far from completely understood-that helps agents (humans today, but perhaps eventually robots and other AIs) decide how they and others should behave. -
Oxford Companion to the Mind
ISBN: 0191727555Publication Date: 2004Cultural as well as scientific, 'The Oxford Companion To The Mind' combines authoritative description and analysis with lightness, wit, and a personal touch. This edition presents three new mini symposia on consciousness, brain imaging, and artificial intelligence. -
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
by
ISBN: 1138709808Publication Date: 2017-02-16The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. -
Routledge Handbook Of The Ethics Of Human Enhancement.
ISBN: 9781000901825Publication Date: 2023The Routledge Handbook of the Ethics of Human Enhancement provides readers with a philosophically rich and scientifically grounded analysis of human enhancement and its ethical implications. -
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, which is no longer published in print format. For a list of all editions of the Britannica held by Princeton, see the History Resource Guide. Includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary. Antiquity+
-
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new windowConsidered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
-
Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text of approximately 300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell.
-
WikipediaWhile it is not advisable to use this as a source in an academic paper, it can sometimes LEAD you to other great sources, especially on contemporary topics.