Books Published In and About Israel
-
Kotar This link opens in a new windowDigital library of Israeli-published academic books on topics including Israel studies, Judaic studies, Jewish history, humanities, social sciences and more.
-
Magnes Israeli E-Book CollectionDigital library of books published by Magnes Press, the university press of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel. Must be accessed while on campus, or connected to the campus network.
Israeli Newspapers
Government and Social Science Information about Israel
-
Central Bureau of Statistics for Israel (English)Government clearinghouse for statistics related to Israel. Includes files from the now-closed Israel Social Science Data Center.
-
Central Bureau of Statistics for Israel (Hebrew)Government clearinghouse for statistics related to Israel. Includes files from the now-closed Israel Social Science Data Center.
-
Knesset Research and Information Center (English)Knesset Research and Information Center has produced more than 6,000 papers, most of which are available in Hebrew on the Hebrew website listed above.
Reports that are of special relevance on an international level have been translated into English and appear on this site. -
Knesset Research and Information Center (Hebrew)The Knesset Research and Information Center has produced more than 6,000 papers, most of which are available on this site in Hebrew.
Israeli and Zionist History
-
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online This link opens in a new window
Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
-
Israel History Online ArchiveProvides online access to over a million historic photographs, manuscripts, documents, recordings and videos that tell the story of the State of Israel.
-
Shapell ArchiveShapell Manuscript Foundation is an independent educational organization dedicated to collecting and exhibiting original manuscripts and historical documents. The Foundation’s focus encompasses unique themes in American history and the Holy Land, with emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries. Its extensive holdings include manuscripts and items from American presidents, most notably a large collection of Abraham Lincoln manuscripts; Mark Twain; Jewish soldiers in the Civil War; Albert Einstein; Theodor Herzl and early Zionism.
-
British Online Archives This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.
-
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 This link opens in a new window
Documents from Great Britain's Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Prime Minister's Office, and Defence Intelligence files relating to Israel, Palestine, Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, and other Middle East nations. Includes correspondence, minutes, reports and newspaper cuttings from the period prior to the 1973 Arab-Israeli ("Yom Kippur") War and its effect on global industry, political relations and social stability. Also provides in-depth coverage of separate conflicts in Cyprus, internal and external political relationships, and details about military exports.
Hebrew Language and Literature
-
Rav Milim Hebrew Dictionary (English site) This link opens in a new window
Also available in Hebrew. Comprehensive dictionary that includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang. Includes linguistic tools that can find and retrieve any of Hebrew's 70 million inflected forms, and also supply other grammatical functions. Includes its own Hebrew keyboard, crossword puzzle, and numbers-to-text converter.
-
Otsar ha-Sefer ha-ʻIvri byCall Number: Z7070 .V566 1993Publication Date: 1993-The Thesaurus of the Hebrew Book lists printed Hebrew books by city.
-
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window
Covers of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest form to the present day, including Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields. Full-text searching using the Hebrew character set is available.
-
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament Online This link opens in a new window
-
Ma'agarim: The Database of the Historical Dictionary Project This link opens in a new windowA dictionary and concordance which includes the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; presenting Hebrew words in their morphological, semantical, and contextual development from the first appearance in written texts to the present. Sources include the Dead Sea Scrolls, Inscriptions, Talmud and Midrash, Geonic Literature, Prayer and Piyyut, Karaite Literature, Sciences, Deeds, Colophons, Amulets, etc. Updated on a regular basis.
-
Footprints: Jewish Books Through Time and PlaceDatabase that tracks the circulation of printed "Jewish books" (in Hebrew, other Jewish languages, and books in Latin and non-Jewish vernaculars with Judaica contents).
-
Verterbukh Yiddish Dictionary This link opens in a new windowProvides broad coverage of Yiddish words of all origins: Hebrew-Aramaic, Slavic, and Romance as well as Germanic, and includes regional and dialectal variants alongside standard literary Yiddish forms.
