Databases
Which Database Should I Choose?
While you're focusing in on your topic, try picking more general databases that eliminate some of the most specialized sources but still cover a wide array of subject areas. Examples include:
- EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
Once you've narrowed in on the aspect of your conspiracy you'd like to study (e.g., the spread of conspiracies through social networks, the impact of conspiratorial beliefs on the medical community, etc.), try searching in a database that focuses on that particular subject area.
Select Social Sciences Databases:
For sociology and anthropology, consider:
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides the must-have materials for social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowGeneral index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
- HistoryMakers This link opens in a new windowOral history interviews with more than 2,600 historically significant African Americans in fields such as the arts, business, education, entertainment, the law, the military, politics, religion, and science.
For psychology, cognition, and neuroscience, consider:
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowOnline database containing searchable full-text articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowService of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles. 1879+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- MIT's CogNet Library This link opens in a new windowFull Text access to MIT books, journals, reference works and conference materials in cognitive and brain science.
Public Opinion Data
- iPoll (Roper)Vast collection of surveys from Gallup, Harris, Roper, and many other organizations covering national public opinion. Searches at the question-level, allowing you to sift through nearly a half million questions asked 1935.
- Gallup Poll Social SeriesTopics are arranged thematically across 12 monthly surveys. Gallup administers these surveys during the same month every year and includes the survey's core trend questions in the same order each administration. Princeton has trend files from 2000-2023
- Odum InstituteNational Network of State Polls Files held by the Odum Institute
- Pew Research CenterNonpartisan think tank that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world, including migration, U.S. immigration, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Check out more options on the Public Opinion and Survey Data Sources Guide!
News & Newspapers
- Newspapers at Princeton: Newspaper CollectionsHere's our research guide on finding and accessing news and newspapers at Princeton!