Research Guides: Finding historical U.S. newspapers at Princeton: Ethnic and alternative newspapers

Alternative press

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Earliest date is 1970. Most start in the 1990s. Select the "Publications" tab for title-by-title coverage. Includes both U.S. & foreign titles; no way to limit to U.S. only.

Alternative press collection [microform]. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microforms International, 1989- [RECAP MICROFILM S01161]
Important collection of U.S. alternative newspapers and periodicals, 1986-present. See also the previous title, Underground newspaper collection, which covers 1963-1985, at MICROFILM S00846. There is a printed guide at FilmB Z6951.A473

Reveal Digital Independent Voices
Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Underground newspaper collection [microform]. 476 reels. MICROFILM S00846; printed guide at (FilmB) Z6951.U4 1963/85.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Collection of Communist American and British papers: The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Ethnic newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority and native press. Begins with 1990, plus selected content from 1960-1989. Select the "Publications" tab for title-by-title coverage. Can search by ethnic group.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
More than 130 searchable newspapers published by ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states. Coverage is best for Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent. From the Balch Collection at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger This link opens in a new window
American Israelite This link opens in a new window
Jewish Advocate This link opens in a new window
Jewish Exponent This link opens in a new window

Jewish Telegraphic Agency
Founded 1917

American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals. Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1983- Firestone Library (F) PN4883 .L57 1983

Bibliographic checklist of African American newspapers. Barbara K. Henritze. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., c1995
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Z6944.N39 H46 1995

Encyclopedic directory of ethnic newspapers and periodicals in the United States. Lubomyr R. Wynar and Anna T. Wynar. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1976.
Firestone Z6953.5.A1 W94 1976 [Note: only lists items in print as of 1976.]

Indigenous Peoples: North America
Includes 20 newspapers published for Indian audiences
Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Audience Newspapers Database
This database helps you identify newspapers published for ethnic minority audiences in Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, and the Yukon. It does not contain digitized content.
American Indian Newspapers
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada, 1828-2016
Rafu Shimpo
"The Rafu Shimpo" (羅府新報, L.A. Japanese Daily News) is the preeminent Japanese American newspaper in the United States. This digital archive contains content from 1914 on, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis.