Research Guides: Finding historical U.S. newspapers at Princeton: 18th & 19th century newspapers

19th century newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.
Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers from the United States, Algeria, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greenland, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname Sweden, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, and the U.S.Virgin Islands. Coverage varies by paper. Varies.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.
Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The This link opens in a new window
Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Chronicling America (1836-1922)
Digitzed newspapers hosted by Library of Congress. Also includes a directory of all newspapers published in the U.S.; from that directory, used Princeton catalog or WorldCat to identify holdings in microfilm
Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
Digitized version, from the Brooklyn Public Library.

Liberator This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the weekly abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, Massachusetts by William Lloyd Garrison.

Negro Newspaper Microfilm Series
A collection of African-American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. MICROFILM S01557

Niles Weekly Register (1814-1849) is included in American Periodicals

We have good holdings in 19th-century newspapers from the western states. Check the listing at http://library.princeton.edu/collections/microforms/newspapers/countries/united-states for a listing by state.

The best recent summaries of the history of newspapers in America in the 19th century are:

The popular press, 1833-1865. William E. Huntzicker. The history of American journalism, no. 3 Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1999. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no.3
The Gilded Age press, 1865-1900. Ted Curtis Smythe. The history of American journalism, no. 4 Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2003. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no.4

Civil War Newspaper Collection

18th century newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.
Pennsylvania Gazette, The This link opens in a new window
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century.
South Carolina Newspapers: 1732-1780 This link opens in a new window
Also includes the Virginia Gazette

The best recent summaries of the history of newspapers in America in the 18th century are:

The early American press, 1690-1783 Wm. David Sloan and Julie Hedgepeth Williams. The history of American journalism, no. 1. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no. 1
The press of the young Republic, 1783-1833. Carol Sue Humphrey. The history of American journalism, no. 2. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996. Firestone Library (F) Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no.2