Research Guides: HIS 450: Abolitionism and the Fall of American Slavery: Finding primary sources

Primary Sources in the Library

PRINTED VOLUMES

Many primary source collections have been edited, printed and are housed in the library. Use the catalog to search by your topic and add the words "sources" or "correspondence."

MANUSCRIPTS AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Princeton University libraries house many collections of primary sources, both in Firestone Library and at Mudd Manuscript Library. Search the collections here.

Digitized Primary Sources

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice. Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

HIS 450: Abolitionism and the Fall of American Slavery

Primary Sources in the Library

Digitized Primary Sources

Subscribe to our Newsletter