Important Note About the U.S. Population Census
Beginning in 1790, the United States has conducted one national census every ten years. In an effort to provide detailed information more frequently, beginning in 2005, the Census Bureau also began conducting the nationwide American Community Survey (ACS) to collect data on a broad range of subjects on a regular basis. For more information about the ACS see the Population Research Libguide.
Historical U.S. Census
Social Explorer is the most user-friendly database for historical U.S. census information and contains interactive maps and census data reports from 1790 to the present.
Other sources of historical U.S. census information include:
-
U.S. Census Published Volumes - PDF versions of published U.S. Census publications. 1790-2010. Available via IPUMS.
-
Decennial Census of Population and Housing by Decades follows the evolution of the decennial census by detailing the events surrounding each of them.
-
Historical Statistics of the United States. Millennial ed. Carter, S. B. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. Wide range of historical data. Tables cover specific indicators such as employment, income, saving, poverty, construction, housing, consumer price indexes, and others.
-
Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes Shulze, S. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1983. Identifies the population information in the U.S. Census decennial reports from 1790 to 1890. Describes the contents and unique aspects of each census.
-
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1900-1940 Shulze, S. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1985
-
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1950-1980 Shulze, S. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1988
-
Bibliography and Reel Index: A Guide to the Microfilm Ed. of the U.S. Decennial Census Publications, 1790-1970 Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, 1975. Serves as a bibliography of U.S. Decennial Census Publications for 1790-1970 and as a reel index for the microform collection. Includes statistics on race, nationality, sex, occupations, and education.
-
Censuses of U.S. Native Americans – U.S. Census Bureau history of the census counts of American Indians as defined by the U.S. government.
For detailed historical census information (including individual census records) see the Historical U.S. Census and Vital Records guide.
U.S. Census Selected Bibliography
Exploring the U. S. Census by Call Number: Stokes HA181 .D66 2020ISBN: 9781544355429Publication Date: 2019-11-20Background on the data collection methods, structures, and potential pitfalls for unfamiliar researchers using U.S. Census data.
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census by ISBN: 9781608717835Publication Date: 2011-01-01Covers the history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population.
Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000 by ISBN: 9780160512094Publication Date: 2002-10-01
A Short Introduction to the U. S. Census by ISBN: 9780205213252Publication Date: 2011-07-07Brief overview of the Census, including important information about the Constitutional mandate, research methods, who is affected by the Census, and how data is used. Explores race and ethnicity, the family, and poverty.
Using the American Community Survey by ISBN: 9780309106733Publication Date: 2007-09-06Covers the basics of how the ACS design and operations differ from the long-form sample; using the ACS for such applications as formula allocation of federal and state funds, transportation planning, and public information; and challenges in working with ACS estimates that cover periods of 12, 36, or 60 months depending on the population size of an area.
What Is Your Race? by ISBN: 9780691157030Publication Date: 2013-07-21A historical overview of the census race question--and a bold proposal for eliminating it- Who's Hispanic? by Publication Date: 2009Just who is a Hispanic? One approach defines a Hispanic or Latino as a member of an ethnic group that traces its roots to 20 Spanish-speaking nations from Latin America and Spain itself (but not Portugal or Portuguese-speaking Brazil). The other approach is much simpler. Who's Hispanic? Anyone who says they are.
