Academic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, which is no longer published in print format. For a list of all editions of the Britannica held by Princeton, see the History Resource Guide. Includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary. Antiquity+
Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition, Five Volume Set addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
The foods eaten by a nation's population play a key role in shaping the health of that society. This book presents country-specific information on how diet, food security, and concepts of health critically impact the well-being of the world's population.A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" diseases. Readers will discover the importance of diet and food culture in determining human health as well as make connections and notice larger trends within multicultural, international contexts.An ideal aid for high school and college students in completing research and writing assignments, this book supplies detailed diet- and health-related information about most major countries and regions in a single source. Each country profile will also include a convenient fact box with statistical information such as life expectancy, average caloric intake, and other health indicators.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Six Volume Set has always been characterized by its unique and comprehensive content. Since publication of the 2nd edition, many important discoveries have been made leading to novel concepts in several areas of biochemistry, and new technologies have advanced our understanding of key processes of life. All of these advances are included in the new and expanded third edition. With its 6 volumes, this is the most up-to-date and complete resource on biochemistry and molecular biology, provided through contributions by leading experts in the field. A 'one-stop', comprehensive resource on "the chemistry of life", including a wealth of information and critical summaries to support research and teaching activities Each chapter is written concisely to guide the reader though the topic, using a consistent and unified terminology Clearly organized into seven logical sections, each curated by a world-leader in the field and the Editor in Chief
A comprehensive general reference on major American interest groups. This encyclopedia provides information on the lobbies and interest groups that dominate modern American politics. It provides descriptions of 13 categories of groups, followed by A-Z entries on the groups within that category.
This two volume set contains frank and factual information about symptoms, causes, effects, prevention, and treatment of substance abuse alcohol, nicotine, and drugs and of behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, pathological gambling, and compulsive sexual activity. Including the most up-to-date research, the addiction entries are based largely on criteria established by the American Psychiatric Association in its Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.Tracing the history of the debate over whether addiction is a choice or a disease, the volumes explain how genetic and biological findings support the disease concept while lifestyle choices affect the course of the disease. Graphics and discussions of the brain structures that support this self-reinforcing mechanism illustrate why treatments that obstruct the pathway are showing such promise."