ABI/INFORM Worldwide business periodicals. In-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, theory, & practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, & taxation.
Business Source Elite Full text business journals
Factiva Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications.
Lexis-Nexis Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full text of the New York Times. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.
Hoover’s Database of company information. Includes financials and key executive profiles along with analysis of industry coverage.
SEC’s EDGAR database.
Standard & Poor's Industry surveys, reports for stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, business biographies, financial forecasts.
More Engineering/Technology databases
Comprehensive Guide to US Government Documents at Princeton
Marcive WebDOCS
This is an online catalog of U.S. government publications going back to mid-1976. See the U.S. Documents staff for help obtaining documents you find in this catalog and for documents published earlier.
Government Accountability Office
URL: http://www.gao.gov
Formerly the General Accounting Office, the GAO is the investigative arm of Congress that monitors and reports on the various activities of U.S. government agencies. Many GAO reports deal with national security and intelligence issues, of which many are available online directly from this site. See the U.S. Documents staff for earlier reports not available online.
Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service.
Publisher: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1916- .
Location: SSRC Index Tables
Call Number: KF49 .G84
Library Has: 1916-present
Microfilm: MICROFILM S01835
The Congressional Research Service is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the U.S. Congress that provides members and committees with in-depth analysis of legislative issues. This index and the accompanying microfilm provide access to a select set of CRS reports going back to 1916.
GalleryWatch (Congressional Research Service Reports)
GalleryWatch provides full-text access to Congressional Research Service reports and Electronic Briefing Books as of 1993.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional
This is an extensive database that indexes the publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings, committee reports, documents, prints, and Congressional Research Service reports. Coverage in this database goes back to 1789 and much of the material is available online in full text with even more available in microfiche at Firestone (ask for help to find these).
National Technical Information Service
The NTIS database provides an index to U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources. Information is also available from international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. Covers back to 1964.
C-SPAN
URL: http://www.c-span.org
The primary mission of the C-SPAN is to provide live gavel-to-gavel coverage of both houses of Congress. In addition, when Congress is not meeting C-SPAN provides coverage of a variety of public affairs events. Their site provides access to a wealth of resources relating to the debate over national security, U.S. intelligence, and civil liberty. Also provides transcripts and archived video coverage. The Video Collection in East Pyne also holds many videos from C-SPAN and other sources relevant to these topics.
More Sociology and Psychology databases
