Research Guides: WRI 114/115: Badlands: Primary Sources

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) This link opens in a new window
Collection of American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. There is a wealth of primary sources in this collection, from all over the United States.

Primary Source Collections

Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
Search engine to Readex products.
Gale Primary Resources This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
ProQuest History This link opens in a new window
Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Includes the archives of American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Harpers Magazine, Moment, NACLA, Nation, New Leader, National Review, New Republic, New York Review, New Yorker, Progressive, Washington Monthly, and Weekly Standard.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Digital library providing open access to over 45,000 titles of digitized biodiversity, natural history, and taxonomic literature worldwide.
Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Government and NGO documents

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons preserves and provides access to more than 30 million pages of curated policy reports and briefs, analyses, working papers, books, case studies, tables, charts, media, and statistical publications created by 25,000 policy organizations (NGOs, IGOs, foundations, think tanks, government agencies, etc.) from around the world. Platform provides multiple filters and advanced searching operators.
Policy Commons: North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons: North American City Reports preserves and provides access to 130,000+ publications—including budgets, surveys, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, and annual reports—from the five hundred largest cities in North America and their underlying agencies. It also includes select reports from municipal and regional associations and other agencies or NGOs that focus on municipal affairs. Coverage is primarily 2000-present. Incudes documents from the former Index to Current Urban Documents from 1999+.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons preserves and provides access to more than 30 million pages of curated policy reports and briefs, analyses, working papers, books, case studies, tables, charts, media, and statistical publications created by 25,000 policy organizations (NGOs, IGOs, foundations, think tanks, government agencies, etc.) from around the world. Platform provides multiple filters and advanced searching operators.

Finding primary sources in the library catalog

Princeton University Library has extensive primary sources. Here are some sample searches.

Lead Poisoning

African Americans Civil rights History 19th century Sources

Environmentalism sources

Three Mile Island Nuclear Power Plant

Virginia Description and Travel