WRI 114/115: Badlands: Specialized Article Databases

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Indexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections. 1972+

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864. Formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text.

Scholarly index to journal articles and books in philosophy. Includes anthologies and book reviews. 1940+

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology. 1896+

Index of full-text and scholarly materials.

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Covering 26 volumes in print, this major encyclopedia aims to capture the "state of the art" of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+

Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals. 1949+

Provides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.

Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.

Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.