Head, Stokes Library
Ameet Doshi
Contact:
Donald E. Stokes Library
057 Wallace Hall
https://orcid.org/0000-0003-3603-2058
057 Wallace Hall
https://orcid.org/0000-0003-3603-2058
609-258-4782
Website
Subjects: Public Policy
Relevant Databases from PUL
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Hein Online Library This link opens in a new windowContains several libraries containing government information including Congressional Documents, Attorney General Decisions, Presidential Documents, and others.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowAggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIndexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press politics titles.
- Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.
- Annual Review of Political Science This link opens in a new windowComprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics.
- EIU Viewswire This link opens in a new windowDaily highlights of key economic, political and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical briefings on the implications for business.
- All PUL databasesClick on "Select Subject" to limit by field / discipline.
Additional Articles
- Refugee resettlement, place, and the politics of IslamophobiaContested meanings of place have emerged in the wake of refugee resettlement in Missoula, Montana. Drawing on qualitative research, this paper explores the ways the intimate and local politics of refugee resettlement in Montana is intertwined with broader geopolitical discourses that conflate refugees, national security, and Islam. As Missoula became a new resettlement destination in August 2016, some residents responded with protest that framed refugees as a grave threat to the community, while others actively participated in welcoming refugees from Congo, Eritrea, Iraq, and Syria. Interviews with residents suggest that settler colonial narratives constructing Montana as a frontier space shape how locals respond to the idea and embodied experience of refugee resettlement. Meanings and histories of place are key to better understanding of Islamophobia, the politics of refugee resettlement, and the intimate connections between place, identity, and racialization in the contemporary U.S.