Issued biennially, the Almanac provides in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress. Previous years are in print at JK1012 .A44 (Firestone) back to 1972.
Find Congressional roll call votes by topic, session, or CQ key vote; view and compare members of Congress by biographical and demographic characteristics; compare members’ voting records; view interest group and state and member voting alignment and party unity scores; and see Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress. Data can be exported to Excel. 79th Congress (1945)-present.
You can get up-to-date Congressional District demographic data from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey (ACS). It's available freely online from Census (see the link above), but you might find Social Explorer's interface easier to use if you want to select a custom set of variables from among the many the ACS makes available. Select Tables in the left nav, then choose ACS 1-year estimates, select Congressional District under geography, and then choose variables of interest.
Provides access to real-time documents, publications, press releases, and social media posts from all branches, offices, agencies, and elected officials of the U.S. Federal Government. Extensive search and filtering options; most content is from 2000-present. Special requests for bulk downloads can be arranged.
Collects, archives, and makes publicly available every official e-newsletter sent by sitting members of the US Congress since 2010. Updated in real time, as members of Congress send constituent messages, and provides researchers with a systematic set of texts to examine the strategic choices that legislators and their staff make in crafting the content. Data available in .csv by month.
This corpus contains emails from candidates running for state and federal office, political parties, and other political organizations like PACs.
Contains more than 400,000 emails from 3,000+ senders since Dec. 2019. You can search the corpus online or request access to the dataset via a webform.
Best starting point for Congressional documentary research. Full text publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings (including previously unpublished hearings), committee reports, documents and prints (1824+); Congressional Research Service reports (1916+), Bills & Laws (1789+), the U.S. Serial Set (1789+), the Congressional Record and its predecessors (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe; 1789+).
Combines extensive reporting on Congress with legislative tracking and detailed coverage of Congressional Committees (including committee rosters, all open markups, and hearings. Also provides access to a wide variety of congressional and related documents, including Congressional Research Service reports (back to 1978), bill text, witness statements, member profiles, Congressional press releases, GAO reports, and more. Most coverage goes back to 1994.
Combines extensive reporting (including all of CQ Roll Call) on Congress with legislative tracking and detailed coverage (with transcripts) of Congressional Committees, all open markups, and hearings. Also provides access to a wide variety of congressional and related policy documents, including Congressional Research Service reports (back to 1978), bill text, witness statements, member profiles, Congressional press releases, GAO reports, and more. Most coverage goes back to 1994.
A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.