Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Task Force-specific Guides Spring 2022

spia jp thesis spr22 researchsem taskforce

Library Catalog

The library IS a good starting point.  Repeat after me: library.princeton.edu, library.princeton.edu, library.princeton.edu  

No need to Google it.


catalog.princeton.edu is a good starting point for books

Let's practice converting a "keyword search" for Palestine into a search using "controlled vocabulary"--the Library of Congress Subject Headings. 

To get you started

Books

Try searching the catalog for "protracted conflict" as a keyword in conjunction with a place of interest.  What subject heading(s) does it correspond to?

I always look for a recent report by the Congressional Research Service (not really a book, but will show up in the Catalog)

Journals

Diplomacy Periodicals

Librarians

Meet with me and/or Politics Librarian and/or Subject Area Specialist. PU Library has specialists in Modern European HistoryNear East StudiesSlavic countries (including Russia and Former USSR).  David Hollander is both a Law and Judaic Studies

Databases

Many Politics Databases, including

Digital National Security Archive

Security Studies (JSTOR)

Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR) Guide Online

News

You should not have to pay for any news articles.  You may also find this useful...

World News Connection (Eastview) (1995+) “Your source for foreign news translated into English”

Foreign News Alert Service from the US Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.  Preceded by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1941-1996) and Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) (1957-1995).

Enjoy Historic Primary Sources? 

In addition to Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East OnlineArchives Unbound has vast collections on the Middle East, Africa, Asia, British and European History, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, as well as the more general, International Relations.  

You might also want to explore Security Issues Online and 

Archives Direct--Sources from the National Archives, UK

If you don't find what you're looking for on these online sites, try Archive Grid  to see what might be available (not necessarily online).  If there are materials that you need that are not available online, our Interlibrary Loan department can request on your behalf (and pay any reasonable costs that are involved).  Based on my experience, during the pandemic, many archives are closed or open infrequently, so do take that into consideration.