Reference works are useful for orienting yourself to a given topic and for pointing you toward other resources that can help with your research.
The Handbook is split into five main sections, with chapters looking at mobile South Asians in the early modern world before moving on to discuss diaspora in relation to empire, nation, nation state and the neighbourhood, and globalisation and culture. Contributors highlight how South Asian diaspora has influenced politics, business, labour, marriage, family and culture.
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary India
This Handbook contains chapters by the field’s foremost scholars dealing with fundamental issues in India’s current cultural and social transformation and concentrates on India as it emerged after the economic reforms and the new economic policy of the 1980s and 1990s and as it develops in the twenty-first century.
See the chapter titled, "Dispersals, migrations, diversity of communities and the notion of an Indian diaspora."
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Pakistan
The Handbook provides an in-depth and comprehensive coverage of issues from identity and the creation of Pakistan in 1947 to its external relations as well as its domestic social, economic and political issues and challenges.
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia
Providing a comprehensive overview of the study of gender in South Asia, this Handbook covers the central contributions that have defined this area and captures innovative and emerging paradigms that are shaping the future of the field.
Routledge International Handbook of Migration Studies
Featuring forty-seven essays written by leading international and multidisciplinary scholars, the Handbook offers a contemporary, integrated and comprehensive resource for students and scholars of sociology, politics, human geography, law, history, urban planning, journalism, and health care.
