Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Global Social Responses to Covid-19 Web Archive (Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation)

About the China section

The China section has been curated by Joshua Seufert (Princeton University) and Luo Zhou (Duke University).

In collecting we tried not to overlap with the IIPC Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) collection (and its China section) which focuses more on the government and media response to Covid-19. The Ivy-Plus web archive tries to capture the social reactions to Covid-19.

Subject wise, the China section of the Ivy Plus Covid-19 collection tries to document the social and cultural impacts, personal narratives, and everyday life during Covid-19 in China. The archive focuses on the activities of NGOs, grassroots efforts, artistic manifestations, blog, vlogs, and social media (mainly Weibo, WeChat and YouTube). Technologically speaking, Ivy Plus has the ability to crawl YouTube, so YouTube videos, especially video diaries from Wuhan, were crawled to preserve these first-hand experiences of the pandemic in China. Because of the relative quick control of the spread of Covid-19 in mainland China in 2020 the web archive also tries to document the international relief efforts of Chinese NGOs worldwide. At present, there are more than 150 sites set to be crawled, and a subset of these sites will be available at the time of launch. Researchers should continue to check the collection as new sites will be added in the future. If you would like to suggest a link for the collection, you can do so by filling out the Google form at this link.

For the China section, the following web archives intersect either topically or temporally with the Ivy Plus Covid-19 collection.

 

Princeton University Library has also started to collect Chinese ephemera related to the pandemic.

Epidemic Assistance - Chinese Covid19 Poster