|
The Princeton University Archives, housed in the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, documents administrative, research, student and staff activities on campus from Princeton's establishment as theCollege of New Jersey in 1746 to the present. Included are administrative records, photographs, publications, diaries, correspondence, and other material documenting the history of the University. For more information about these collections, please contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. 609-258-6345
|
African-American Studies Program
Creator: African-American Studies Program
Title: Program in African-American Studies Records1970-1991: Preliminary Finding Aid
Abstract: The Program in African-American Studies at Princeton University is a course of study offered to undergraduates at Princeton University, supervised by an interdepartmental committee and taught by faculty from twelve cooperating departments. The records consist of course proposals and descriptions, proposals for a post-doctoral program, and meeting minutes and correspondence of the interdepartmental committee.
Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.
Call number: AC020
Brief references to African-Americans are also be found in the finding aid to
Imbrie, Andrew C. (Andrew Clerk), 1875-1965.
Creator: Imbrie, Andrew C. (Andrew Clerk), 1875-1965.
Title: Andrew C. Imbrie Papers, 1895-1947: Finding Aid
Abstract: The Papers of Andrew C. Imbrie, Class of 1895, (1875-1965) provide information on his undergraduate years, his service as an alumni trustee from 1907 until 1912 (including a period as Financial Secretary of the Princeton University Board of Trustees (1909-1912) during which he had charge of reorganization of the business management of the University leading to the creation of what became the Office of the Controller) and his family's genealogy.
Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.
Call number: AC002
Princeton Cooperative School Program.
Creator: Princeton Cooperative School Program.
Title: Princeton Cooperative School Program Records, 1958-1977 (bulk 1963-1966): Finding Aid
Abstract: The records of the Princeton Cooperative School Program document the history of this summer program for disadvantaged youth held at and administered by Princeton University.
Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.
Call number: AC064
Brief references to African-Americans are also be found in the finding aid to
Princeton University. Office of the President.
Creator: Princeton University. Office of the President.
Title: Office of the President Records: William G. Bowen Subgroup, 1940-1998 (bulk 1972-1987): Finding Aid
Abstract: The collection contains the files compiled by the Office of the President during the presidency of William G. Bowen GS'58 (July 1972 to January 1988). The files consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, speeches, publications, and other assorted material. Series 18 includes the files of three assistants to the president, biographical and photographic material about Bowen, and a card index of the files. There is some overlap between the files in this collection and the files of presidents Goheen and Shapiro. Records found here are sometimes duplicated in the records of other administrative offices on campus.
Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.
Call number: AC187
Brief references to African-Americans are also be found in the finding aid to the
Creator: Provost's Office
Title: Office of the Provost Records, 1953-1996 (bulk 1967-1995): Finding Aid
Abstract: The Office of the Provost record group contains the records created and compiled by the Princeton University Office of the Provost since its establishment in 1966. Though there is nothing remaining of the files of the first provost, J. Douglas Brown GS '28, subsequent provosts kept comprehensive records. As of 2005, this collection includes the files of the second provost, William G. Bowen GS '58 through the eighth provost, Stephen Goldfeld, whose tenure ended in June 1995. The files consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, speeches, publications, and other assorted material. Materials found here are sometimes duplicated in the records of other administrative offices on campus.
Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives
Call number: AC195
For assistance contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.
609-258-6345
