American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1917-1950
MC001 Seeley G. Mudd Library Finding Aid
Consists of the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), documenting its activities in protecting individual rights under the leadership of Roger Baldwin. Its primary aims have been the defense of free speech and press, separation of church and state, free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and privacy rights of all citizens. The collection contains primarily correspondence and clippings. Also included are the records of the ACLU’s predecessor organization, the National Civil Liberties Bureau (1917-1920) of the American Union Against Militarism (AUAM) and some material documenting a 1912 Industrial Workers of the World free speech trial.
American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1950-1995
MC001 Seeley G. Mudd Library Finding Aid
Documents the activities of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) in protecting individual rights between 1950 and 1995. The collection contains correspondence, clippings, court documents, memoranda, printed matter, minutes, reports, briefs, legal files, exhibit materials, and audio-visual materials. Also included are materials from ACLU affiliate organizations, the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee and national office legal department records (1945-1960).
Bayard Rustin Papers
RECAP Microfilm 11662 Printed guide (Film B) E185.97.R93 B392 23 reels
Reproduces the papers of noted civil rights leader and political activist Bayard Rustin. The originals are in the A. Philip Randolph Institute, New York N.Y., which were later transferred by the Institute to the Library of Congress.
Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South, Series 1-3
RECAP Microfilm 12030 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.6.C585 2007 104 reels
Online guide to Series 1, Parts 1-2 Online guide to Series 2
Series 1, Civil rights and social activism in Alabama. Part 1, The John L. LeFlore papers, 1926-1976 (15 reels); Part 2: Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-1987 (29 reels) -- Series 2, The Legal Battle for Civil Rights in Alabama. Part 1, Vernon Z. Crawford reords, 1958-1978 (6 reels); Part 2: Selctions from the Blacksher, Menefee & Stein records (37 reels) -- Series 3: James A. Dombrowski and the Southern Conference Educational Fund (17 reels).
Civil Rights During the Bush administration: subject file of the White House Office of Records Management, 1989-1993
RECAP Microfilm 12460 Printed Guide: (FilmB) E185.615 .B87 2008 23 reels
"Microfilmed from the holdings of the George Bush Presidential Library, College Station, Texas." “The documents reproduced in this publication are records of the Bush Administration, 1989-1993, in the custody of the National Archives."
Civil rights During the Carter administration, 1977-1981
RECAP Microfilm 12451 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615 .C3518 2006
Part I, Sections A-D
Reproduces document files collected by the office of Louis E. Martin, special assistant to the president, whose primary focus was on civil rights issues and minority affairs. Documents include internal White House memoranda, correspondence between White House and federal agency officials, government reports, invitation lists for major events, correspondence from individuals and organizations, and newspaper articles and editorials.
Civil Rights During the Eisenhower Administration
RECAP Microfilm 12450 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C483 2006 14 reels
Part 1. White House central files. Series A, School desegregation.
Civil Rights During the Kennedy Administration, 1961-1963
RECAP Microfilm 05859 Printed guide (FilmB) JC599.U5 C59 47 reels
A collection from the holdings of the John F. Kennedy Library, Boston, Massachusetts. Part 1. The White House Central Files and Staff Files and the President’s office Files. Part 2. The Papers of Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights.
Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969
RECAP Microfilm 05445 Printed guide (FilmB) JK1717.L38 69 reels
Part 1. White House Central Files. Part 2. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Administrative History. Part 3. Oral Histories. Part 4. Records of the White House Conference on Civil Rights, 1965-1966. Part 5. Records of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (Kerner Commission)
Civil Rights During the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974
RECAP Microfilm 09172 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615. C587 46 reels
Part 1. White House Central Files.
Detroit Urban League Papers, 1916-1950, at the University of Michigan
RECAP Microfilm 09607 Printed guide (FilmB) F574.D49 N454 35 reels
Fannie Lou Hamer Papers, 1966-1978
RECAP Microfilm 11839 Printed guide (Film B) E185.97.H35 A3 2005a 17 reels
Noted civil rights activist and co-chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.
FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
RECAP Microfilm 09178 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61 .F355 2 reels
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations
RECAP Microfilm 12390 Printed guide: (FilmB) E806 .F6917 2008 18 reels
This is a collection of essential materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement--concerned with the issues of lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.
Papers of the Civil Rights Congress
Microfilm 11925 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C59 1988 125 reels
Part 1. Case Files. Part 2. Files of William Patterson and the National Office. Part 3. Publications. Part 4. Communist Party USA files. Part 5. Citizens Emergency Defense Conference.
“The Civil Rights Congress (CRC) was established in 1946, and fought for the protection of the civil rights and liberties of African Americans and suspected communists primarily through litigation, political agitation, and the mobilization of public sentiment. African American lawyer and Communist leader William Patterson served as executive secretary of the organization throughout its existence.”
Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1941-1967
RECAP Microfilm 04276 Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 M46 1980 49 reels
Founded in 1942 by a group of interracial pacifists, CORE was one of the most important national organizations of the African American freedom movement.
Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality: Addendum, 1944-1968
RECAP Microfilm 04562 Printed Guide (FilmB) E185.61.P36
Papers of the NAACP
RECAP Microfilm 05354 Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 G84 1001+ reels
Organization records of America’s oldest and largest civil rights organization.
President Truman’s Commission on Civil Rights
RECAP Microfilm 05573 Printed guide (FilmB) E813.J84 10 reels
Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights : The Inter-Group Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963
RECAP Microfilm 0000 Printed guide: NA 31 reels
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
RECAP Microfilm 10096 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.S687 61 reels
pt. 1. Records of the President’s office (21 reels) -- pt. 2. Records of the Executive Director and Treasurer (22 reels) -- pt. 3. Records of the Public Relations Dept. (10 reels) -- pt. 4. Records of the Program Dept. (29 reels).
Southern Civil Rights Litigation Records for the 1960s
RECAP Microfilm 05448 Printed guide (FilmB) KF4756.A1 G84 or (SF) KF4756.A1 G84 170 reels
Contains the records of major civil rights cases from the archives of the Legal Defense Fund of the NAACP, the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, the Lawyers Constitution Defense Committee, and individual attorneys.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
Microfilm 04530 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.xS78 73 reels
Covers the activities of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) founded in 1960 at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina. The organization was known for staging nonviolent protests and sit-ins.
See also Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee of California, The Movement
Microfilm S00846 Underground press collection. Listing of contents ((Film B) Z6951.U4)
William H. Hastie Papers. Part 2. Civil Rights, Organizational, and Private Activities
RECAP Microfilm 11824 Printed guide (FilmB) KF373.H38A25 42 reels
Attorney William Henry Hastie was the first African American appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit by President Truman in 1949. Part 2 of the collection documents his activities as a civil rights lawyer, educator, and judge. Part I, covering his opinions are available in the Federal Reporter in print, LexisNexis and Westlaw (online in both the academic and law school versions).
