Research Guides: WRI 112/113: The Craft of Authenticity: Background Information

Reference Books

Encyclopedias, handbooks and companions are great ways to get background information, understand the terms used to describe some topics, and identify sources related to a particular topic. In addition to the online resources listed below, one can also do a Subject (browse) search in the library catalog: e.g. RENAISSANCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, identifying any topic you can think of. Searching for the word encyclopedia in the Databases search will also point you to many online encyclopedias in different subjects.

Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.
Historical Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries with timelines covering nations of the world, ancient civilizations, intelligence & security, literature, peoples & cultures, philosophy, pop culture (art, music, cinema), religion, sports, United States politics, and wars & conflicts,
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides overview of classic and current research and future trends in the social sciences and humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable versions of several hundred paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. Each volume treats a large subject, is written by a well-known scholar (several are Princeton faculty), and includes further readings. These works provide more context on a topic than does an encyclopedia article.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Online Encyclopedias available at Princeton
We have many specialized encyclopedias covering just about every field. This links to one list (multiple pages), but is not exhaustive.
Wikipedia
While it is not advisable to use this as a source in an academic paper, it can sometimes LEAD you to other great sources, especially on contemporary topics.

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Kelly, Michael
Publication Date: 2014
From the preface to the 2nd ed.: "aesthetics can be practiced in a number of different forms and used to understand art, culture, and nature in critical ways" (officially, Aesthetics is a set of principles, or a branch of philosophy dealing with all forms of beauty, especially in art.

Bloomsbury: Object Lessons (series)
Each volume focuses on one everyday object from multiple angles. PU will likely have some titles. Do ask if one is of particular interest.
Routledge: The Basics (series)
Another useful series: Princeton may have in print or online, or do ask if a particular title is of interest.

Oxford Art Online

Art encyclopedia articles (PU affiliates):

Crawford, A. Arts and Crafts Movement. Grove Art Online. Retrieved 15 Oct. 2021, from https://www.oxfordartonline.com/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7000004452 .

Buszek, M. Craft and contemporary art. Grove Art Online. Retrieved 15 Oct. 2021, from https://www.oxfordartonline.com/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7002220516

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, 2nd ed. (2014)

Shiner, L. (2014). Craft. In Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 18 Oct. 2021, from https://www-oxfordreference-com.ezproxy.princeton.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780199747108.001.0001/acref-9780199747108-e-174 .

OBO

Oxford Bibliographies is another great research tool for starting out, although not all disciplines are represented. Use the search box at the upper right, or browse by subject to see the many sub-topics represented in annotated bibliographies within each subject area. (PU affiliates only)

Specific relevant bibliographies:

Artisans, by James Farr, under Renaissance and Reformation
10.1093/OBO/9780195399301-0067
(paste the DOI/persistent link into a web browser and make sure you are connected to the PU network to access)

Arts and Crafts Movement, by Maureen Meister, under Architecture Planning and Preservation
10.1093/OBO/9780190922467-0012

Folklore, by Simon J. Bronner, under Anthropology
10.1093/OBO/9780199766567-0131

Visual Culture, by Sophia Andres, under Victorian Literature
10.1093/OBO/9780199799558-0084

Guilds, by Joseph P. Byrne, under Medieval Studies
10.1093/OBO/9780195396584-0252 etc.