Information about accessing newspapers at Princeton may be found in this guide .
1. The Advanced Search will usually give you more options
2. Phrase searching: can put a phrase in quotes
3. Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT - connects two or more words to narrow or broaden a search, or to help clarify terms with multiple meanings (can be combined with phrase searching) [sometimes you have to type these in--in CAPS--and sometimes you will see them listed to connect subject terms (select AND, OR or NOT)]
4. Most databases we subscribe to that combine both scholarly and more popular sources allow one to limit to only scholarly, or peer-reviewed, or both types of resources
5. Most databases allow one to save results in a folder for future access, or to easily e-mail citations and/or full-text (e.g. a PDF) to oneself to consult later on. Just make sure to empty out the folder before leaving a database, or you will lose your saved items (unless you have created an account and logged in).
6. One can almost always limit by date and language (of the source)
7. Many databases includes abstracts or summaries of the books or journal articles so as to provide enough information, often, to know if it's worth it to read an item in its entirety online or go seek out in the library
8. Depending on the database, a range of material can be included: advertisements, book reviews, feature articles, book reviews, images, newspaper articles, dissertations, etc.
9. You may have to brainstorm a bit up front to determine all the possible ways your subject or key terms could be formulated both commonly and by the particular database/search engine you are using
The main periodical indices for art, art history, architecture, and design are available via the Art & Archaeology page of Princeton databases and some of the below also index book content:*
*NOTE: While all above index periodical articles, some also include monographs (i.e. books and catalogs), sales catalogs, festschriften, and other. For simultaneous searching: via EBSCO: select Art & Architecture Source, Art Index Retrospective, Art Magazine Collection Archives (Antiques, Art in America, ArtNews), Frick Art Reference..., Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals and other important historical and general humanities databases to search simultaneously. Select CHOOSE DATABASES at the top of the screen to select more than one. Via ProQuest, it is possible to search simultaneously Art & Architecture Archive (digitized art magazines), Avery Index, ArtBibliographies Modern, International Bibliography of Art and Design and Applied Arts Index. Choose your databases at the very top left of the screen: "Change Databases." ProQuest allows you to select all Arts databases only, which makes it easy (click on "use selected databases" after selecting Arts), and then perform a search.
Once you have a citation for an article (e.g. author, title, name of journal, volume, year, page numbers):
