Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African & African American Music
African American Music Reference
Combines reference sources, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music. Constantly expanding to include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
African Music on the Internet
An extensive array of links to Web sites on all aspects of African music from all regions of the continent. Sponsored by Stanford University
Center for Black Music Research (CBMR)
Documents and preserves information and materials related to the black music experience throughout the world."
Founded in 1983 at Columbia College, Chicago.
Black Thought and Culture
Full-text collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leading African-Americans from the earliest times to the present. Includes numerous music-related materials.
African American Song
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. Contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
The African American Experience
Digital access to a range of reference books, monographs, & primary sources, including manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
Database of over 3,500 digitized visual images and 50 hours of sound files from 45 African countries, searchable by keyword, subject, or country. Also browsable by collections of images (artisans, buildings and structures, cities and towns, education, landscape, religion, and women) or sounds (greetings, rites and ceremonies, songs and singing, and drums).
Jewish Music WebCenter
The most comprehensive and up-to-date Web-based resource on Jewish music. Main sections include: "News & Features," "Getting to the Music," "Academic," "Directories," and "Women and Jewish Music."
Milken Archive of Jewish Music: The American Experience
"An exploration of the rich variety of musical expression born of, inspired by, associated with, or reflecting the full spectrum of Jewish life in the United States—the collective American Jewish experience." Content divides into thematic volumes and the main topics of music (streaming audio), people, photos, videos, voices, and articles.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies -- 1985+
Indexes articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of the land of Israel. Covers articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
Jewish Music Research Centre (JMRC)
An academic institution fully dedicated to the documentation, research, and publication of scholarly materials about Jewish music. Founded in 1964 and based at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) -- 1971+
Broad interdisciplinary resource covering East, Southeast, and South Asia. Particularly useful for finding Asian music research published since 1971 in non-music journals, edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.
Chinese Music Society of North America
International organization founded in 1976 to increase and diffuse the knowledge of Chinese music and performing arts.
Latin American Music
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) -- 1936+
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this multidisciplinary resource alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) -- 1970+
Indexes articles and other documents appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
GRAMMY.com: Latin Recording Academy
The Latin GRAMMY Awards "recognize excellence and create a greater public awareness of the cultural diversity of Latin recording artists and creators, both domestically and internationally." The site includes news, Hall of Fame members, articles, and more.
An "online magaine" publishing texts about music and musical life in Latin America, with an emphasis on the art music of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Latin American Choral Music
Comprehensive, searchable index of Latin American composers and their choral music compiled by Suzanne Tiemstra.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Includes numerous detailed articles on musical subjects, including key musicians, popular music genres, regional musics, and many other topics.
Near Eastern & Arabic Music
Index Islamicus -- 1906+
Broad interdisciplinary indexing of literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, includes many articles on music in the Muslim world in over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.