Skip to main content

WRI155 & WRI156 Miniatures

Library guide for the Writing Seminars WRI155 & WRI156 Miniatures

General Interest Databases

General/Multidisciplinary Databases


  • ProQuest Research Library  (Mid 1970s+. (Highly selective earlier coverage)) Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers.
  • Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+) Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals and popular periodicals
  • Wilson OmniFile  (1982+) Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. 
  • Readers' Guide Full Text  (1983+; Select Full Text 1992+) Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. 
  • Anthropology Plus  (1800+)  Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. 
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index  (1975+) Indexes over 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. 
 

List of all databases by subject

Selected Literature databases

 

Selected Philosophy databases

Selected History databases

Selected Science/Technology databases

Selected Sociology / Psychology / Anthropology databases

More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases

Selected Politics databases

Selected Religion databases

Selected Subject Databases

For a comprehensive list of Princeton databases, see: http://library.princeton.edu/catalogs/articles.php

Politics & Economics

  • International Political Science Abstracts (1989+) Provides abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975+) Provides indexing to articles and more in politics
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951+) Provides indexing to publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.
  • PAIS International (1915+) Provides indexing to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue.
  • EconLit (1969+) Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

History

  • Historical Abstracts (1954+) Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • JSTOR Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
  • Project Muse Full-text articles from more than 100 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences

Environment

  • Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.
  • Abstract/index information for environmental policy and studies.
  • Web of Science (ISI) (1900+) Provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+. Unless you choose SCI, you will also retrieve articles from Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
  • Scopus (1996+) International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for 1996+
Health & Medicine
  • Global Health Database (1973+) Note: If the database is in use, please try again later. International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, and more.
  • MEDLINE (SilverPlatter) (1950+) National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature
  • PubMed (1951+) Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
  • History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1976+) Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields.

Literature, Art & Religion

  • MLA International Bibliography (1926+) Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (1973+)Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
  • Art Index (Indexing 1929+, Select Full Text 1997+) Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art
  • ATLA Religion Database + ATLASerials (full-text) (1949+) Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals

 

Joshua Seufert

Joshua Seufert's picture
Joshua Seufert
Contact:
Room 314,
Frist Campus Center,
East Asian Library
609-258-5336
Website