Skip to main content

HIS 414: Life-writing and History: Diaries, Memoirs and Autobiographies

Published items such as books

Published items, such as books or artworks, can be found through the Catalog.   

-- search by Author

   If the author has written few items, you should be able to find the autobiography quickly

   If the author is prolific, then choose Advanced Search.  In the Author field, enter the author's name; in the Subject field, enter the word Biography (in the catalog, autobiographies are entered under the world biography)

-- After results are shown, click on "Library" facet at left; then choose Special Collections

-- From the results, choose the title you want and click on the title

-- It will open a new page; from that page, click on the blue "Reading Room Request" button

          -- If you already have a Special Collections Research Account, you can log in

          -- If you do not have a Special Collections Research Account, you will be prompted to create one 

-- A new page will open, named "New Request".  Scroll to the bottom and enter any notes, and the date that you want to come use the material.  Special Collections is open Monday–Friday from 9:00 am–4:45 pm

Unpublished manuscripts

Papers such as diaries, manuscripts, memoranda, etc., can be found through the Finding Aids

-- Search by

             -- name and diary,   or

             -- keyword and diary (e.g., "soldier diary")

then click the orange Search button

-- You will see a list of documents held within larger collections

-- Click on the keywords in bold to see the document in the context of the collection

-- A new page will open; at the left you will see the organization of the collection, and the place of the document within the collection 

-- To learn more about the collection, click on Summary and Description at top left

-- If you want to view the document, go back to the page that lists the document.  Click the white "Request this Box" button.  (Note: Special Collections will not bring you individual documents, but rather a box full of documents.)

-- It will open a new page

          -- If you already have a Special Collections Research Account, you can click the orange "Submit Request" button

          -- If you do not have a Special Collections Research Account, click the orange "register' link at the top of the box; then return and click the 

              orange "Submit Request" button

-- Add any notes, and enter the date the date that you want to come use the material in the "Scheduled Date" box. (Special Collections is open Monday–Friday from 9:00 am–4:45 pm).  Then click the orange "Submit Request" button.

-- A new page will open, showing the items you have requested.