Skip to Main Content

Art 400

Research Guide for Art 400: Junior Seminar.

Database Searching tips

. the Advanced Search will usually give you more options

2. Phrase searching:  can put a phrase in quotes

3. Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT - connects two or more words to narrow or broaden a search, or to help clarify terms with multiple meanings (can be combined with phrase searching) [sometimes you have to type these in--in CAPS--and sometimes you will see them listed to connect subject terms (select AND, OR or NOT)]

4. Most databases we subscribe to that combine both scholarly and more popular sources allow one to limit to only scholarly, or peer-reviewed, or both types of resources

5. Most databases allow one to save results in a folder for future access, or to easily e-mail citations and/or full-text (e.g. a PDF) to oneself to consult later on. Just make sure to empty out the folder before leaving a database, or you will lose your saved items (unless you have created an account and logged in).

6. One can almost always limit by date and language (of the source)

7. Many databases includes abstracts or summaries of the books or journal articles so as to provide enough information, often, to know if it's worth it to read an item in its entirety online or go seek out in the library

8. Depending on the database, a range of material can be included: advertisements, book reviews, feature articles, book reviews, images, newspaper articles, dissertations, etc.

9. You may have to brainstorm a bit up front to determine all the possible ways your subject or key terms could be formulated both commonly and by the particular database/search engine you are using

I need to find journal articles.

The main periodical indices for art, art history, architecture, and design are available via the Art & Archaeology page of Princeton databases.*

  • Art & Architecture Source (back to 1929; all arts; some full-text; sources are not as scholarly as some of the others below, and not as extensive foreign language sources)
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (architecture and design; citations only)
  • ArtBibliographies Modern (modern and contemporary art; photography; indexes books also; citations only)
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (history of Western art to modern; scholarly; includes all Western European languages; citations only; covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc., 1975-2007, includes RILA, International Repertory of the LIterature of Art, and provides links to RAA, Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (same as HAB), and IBA - see below)
  • Design & Applied Arts Index (design and decorative arts; European focus)
  • Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals (1850-1969; American and European fine and decorative arts)
  • History of Art Bibliography (1910-2007; overlaps with BHA, includes RAA - see green link at the bottom for 1910-72)
  • International Bibliography of Art (2008+; successor to BHA--below--with a more global scope; citations only)

*NOTE: While all above index periodical articles, some also include monographs (i.e. books and catalogs), sales catalogs, festschriften, and other. For simultaneous searching: via EBSCO: select Art & Architecture Source, Art Index Retrospective, Frick Art Reference..., Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals and other important historical and general humanities databases to search simultaneously. Select CHOOSE DATABASES at the top of the screen to select more than one. Via ProQuest, it is possible to search simultaneously Avery Index, ABM, IBA and DAAI. Choose your databases at the very top left of the screen.

Once you have a citation for an article (e.g. author, title, name of journal, volume, year, page numbers):

  • Click on the orange Find it @ PUL button next to the citation, if there is one. That will tell you if we have the article in an online format, and, if not, will link you into the library catalog to locate the print version in the stacks. [NOTE: this SFX link is not perfect, if no results are found, double-check by cutting and pasting the name of the journal and doing a title search in the catalog.] Make sure to check Princeton’s holdings to determine: 1. what years we have online, or 2. what years we have in the stacks (issues we are lacking should be noted), OR
  • Do a Title Starts With . . . search in the online catalog to find out the location of the journal in the stacks (and/or online). Select JOURNAL under FORMAT.

There are many more databases available to you at Princeton. See the Databases page arranged by Subject to direct you to additional databases.

 

E-journals

One can find electronic journals by title here or by doing a title search in the library catalog. One can limit to ONLINE content under Access on the left, and to JOURNAL under Format. Alternatively, one can browse journals more visually and by subject using Princeton's instance of BrowZine. BrowZine allows one to save favorite titles to a Bookshelf, receive alerts when a new issues is published, and retain selected articles.