Research Guides: SPIA: Welcome to the Library: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

If you don't know where to start your research, consider some of the following databases. Included are mix of more generalized and specialized databases that you might not have known we had access to:

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results. Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons preserves and provides access to more than 30 million pages of curated policy reports and briefs, analyses, working papers, books, case studies, tables, charts, media, and statistical publications created by 25,000 policy organizations (NGOs, IGOs, foundations, think tanks, government agencies, etc.) from around the world. Platform provides multiple filters and advanced searching operators.
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of a premier think-tank on international affairs and global policy covering a wide range of topics and all major world regions. Content includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, and monographs, as well as audio recordings (with searchable transcripts) of key figures in international affairs. Also includes access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: International Affairs and The World Today. 1920-2008
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. 1915+
1968-1971 of the foreign language component is only available in print. (Trustees Reading Room) Z7164.A2P8
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides the must-have materials for social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.