Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Policy Guide from Stokes Library Fall 2020

General Info; Databases; Newspapers; Data and Statistics; Citations; undergrads

A well-researched paper probably involves all of these

Books (see below)

Historical News Sources 

Database searching for secondary sources in Historical Abstracts

Meet with me and/or the American History Librarian  

Searches on web archives (sample links below) or proprietary databases such as Archives Unbound or The Great Depression and New Deal : documents decoded or Proquest History Vault

Library Catalog Subject Headings for Books

Explore any of these that are of interest. 

Remember to

Sort by date, if desired. 

Limit to "Online", if needed.

Combine with keywords or names of countries or key actors.

Check out the differences between clicking on Sources and clicking on 'Browse.'

Check out Work Projects Administration as author and Work Projects Administration as subject

Finding Journal Articles

Archives on Web

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Living New Deal 

New York TimesMachine

Newspaper Navigator from Chronicling America

HathiTrust including Emergency Access

National Archives including including FERA write-up 

Guide from Rutgers: Contemporary Social Welfare Policies: The 1930s to Today

Sophisticated Google Searching--quotation marks to phrase search, black & white images for letters

Sophisticated Google Scholar Searching using "search within citing articles" checkbox.  For example, Levine's Documenting America, 1935-1943 which included American Culture and the Great Depression.

Final thoughts

Library Databases with Primary Sources