Since their first publication, the four volumes of the Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations have served as the definitive source for the topic, from the colonial period to the Cold War. This second volume of the updated edition describes the causes and dynamics of United States foreign policy from 1865 to 1913, the era when the United States became one of the four great world powers and the world's greatest economic power. The dramatic expansion of global power during this period was set in motion by the strike-ridden, bloody, economic depression from 1873 to 1897 when American farms and factories began seeking overseas markets for their surplus goods, as well as by a series of foreign policy triumphs, as America extended its authority to Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Panama Canal Zone, Central America, the Philippines and China. Ironically, as Americans searched for opportunity and stability abroad, they helped create revolutions in Central America, Panama, the Philippines, Mexico, China and Russia.
Providing a comprehensive overview of Russia's foreign policy directions, this handbook brings together an international team of scholars to develop a complex treatment of Russia's foreign policy. The chapters draw from numerous theoretical traditions by incorporating ideas of domestic institutions, considerations of national security and international recognition as sources of the nation's foreign policy. Covering critically important subjects such as Russia's military interventions in Ukraine and Syria, the handbook is divided into four key parts: Part I explores the social and material conditions in which Russia's foreign policy is formed and implemented. Part II investigates tools and actors that participate in policy making including diplomacy, military, media, and others. Part III provides an overview of Russia's directions towards the United States, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Eurasia, and the Arctic. Part IV addresses the issue of Russia's participation in global governance and multiple international organizations, as well as the Kremlin's efforts to build new organizations and formats that suit Russia's objectives. The Routledge Handbook of Russian Foreign Policy is an invaluable resource to students and scholars of Russian Politics and International Relations, as well as World Politics more generally.
"This four-volume set features nearly 1,500 entries by experts on all aspects of Russian history, including important biographical figures, geographical areas, ethnographic groups, cultural landmarks, military campaigns, and social issues."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.
This easy-to-use reference explores the people and events that shaped Russian military history--and impacted Europe, Asia, and the world--over the past eight centuries. Russian military history is an often-overlooked field. Yet Russia is and has long been an important player in global politics, and its military exploits have been central to its role on the world stage. This study of Russia's military past provides insights into European and U.S. history, including the conduct of the two World Wars and the Cold War, and will help readers better appreciate the current geopolitical situation. This work covers major events and figures in Russian military history from the end of Mongol domination in the 14th century to the present day. More than 650 entries by scores of expert contributors detail events, individuals, organizations, and ideas that have influenced Russian warfare over 800 years. Two alphabetically arranged volumes explore such conflicts as the Russo-Polish Wars, the Great Northern War, the Russo-Turkish Wars, the Napoleonic Wars, the Crimean War, the Russo-Japanese War, World War I, World War II, and the Cold War, including the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. Cross references and further readings in each entry serve as jumping-off points for further exploration. Helps readers understand the sociopolitical history of Russia and how it continues to exert a major influence in international affairs Showcases the complex role conflict has played in Russia throughout its history Includes an introductory essay that discusses how warfare in Russia has progressed over the centuries Offers entries on wars, battles, organizations, leaders, armies, weapons, and other aspects of war and military life Provides a ready reference for readers with little or no prior knowledge of Russian history
Call Number: History Reference E181 .O95 2013 (also online)
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate Americandiplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.Entries will be written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented, as is appropriate for an encyclopedia of diplomacy, with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.The crucial importance of the subject is reflected in the popularity of university courses dedicated to diplomatic and military history and the enduring appeal of international relations (IR) as a political science discipline drawing on both. The Oxford Encyclopedia will be a basic reference toolacross both disciplines - a potentially very significant market.
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book, goes beyond basic facts to provide readers with crucial context, expert analysis, and informed perspectives on the evolution of American politics. Written by more than 170 leading historians and social scientists, The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History gives students, scholars, and researchers authoritative introductions to the subject's most important topics and a first step to further research. Features nearly 190 entries, organized alphabetically and written by a distinguished team of scholars, including Dean Baker, Lewis L. Gould, Alexander Keyssar, James T. Kloppenberg, Patricia Nelson Limerick, Lisa McGirr, Mark A. Noll, Jack N. Rakove, Nick Salvatore, Stephen Skowronek, Jeremi Suri, and Julian E. Zelizer Describes key political periods and eras, from the founding to the present day Traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents Explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics Presents the political history and influence of geographic regions Describes the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups in the political process Explores the influence of mass culture, from political cartoons to the Internet Examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more Includes bibliographies, cross-references, appendixes, a comprehensive index, and more than 50 illustrations and maps
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. How is the West defined as a cultural region? What did the notions of "secession" and "union" mean to Americans living in the 1860s? How does Disney pervade and influence perceptions about America today? In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
This encyclopedia brings together in one two-volume set the record of America's values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought.
An Encyclopedia of American Culture by Marek Golebiowski
Call Number: E169.1 .G63513 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
This encyclopedia aims to provide a ready reference to various aspects of American culture. The time frame is from the colonial period to the end of the 20thcentury. The areas covered are fine arts (painting, sculpture, photography); performing arts (music, ballet, theatre, film); architecture; literature; and various non-artistic forms of culture (symbolic, material, culinary).
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of United States National Security, Two-Volume Set. The Encyclopedia covers the origin, development and results of all major US national security policies over the last seven decades. National security has been a widely debated, yet highly researched topic that has tremendous global scope. However, there has never been a single, concise reference source to aid students in providing accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when and where US national security evolved. A thoroughly interdisciplinary work, the Encyclopedia views US national security from a historical, economic, political and technological perspective. This Two-VolumeSset is arranged alphabetically and includes over 750 entries. Over 200 of the articles are signed. This, first of its kind encyclopedia, is a must-have resource for all academic and public libraries. Entries are arranged into the following categories: Politics/policy making; Economics; Technology; Wars; Presidential Administrations; Foreign Relations; and Strategic Policy.
Shaped by often very dramatic events, international security and the international system have changed significantly in recent years. The conclusion of the Cold War, the emergence of new political systems, the growth of significant threats such as terrorism, and the development of new security doctrines have driven global transformation. These volumes provide detailed information on countries from every geographic region and continent on the globe, evaluating their relationship with the United States and measuring the potential security threats posed by each. The contributors consider factors such as geography and history; the political systems of each state; their human rights records; the ability to maintain law and order and provide security within their own borders; the impact of current administrations, rulers, or regimes on a nation's foreign policy; and the regional factors that often dictate local politics, in order to make their assessments. All of the entries in this set follow a standardized outline and present a concise, but detailed assessment of each country. Each entry begins with a discussion of geography through which the contributors identify the state's natural resources, environmental issues, and the extent of its territorial jurisdiction. The focus then shifts to social and political organizations. Populations are broken down by not only numbers, but by ethnic and religious affilitations, access to health care, education, housing, and income. All of those aspects are often a reflection of the system of government in place. Like the United States, those governments are comprised of different parties or leaders with various interests. The contributors assess those entities and interests within each country. They measure the ways in which factors of religion, nationalism, and globalism impact and shape not only domestic policies but also foreign policy, and, ultimately, the country's relationship to the United States. Other areas, such as military organizations and activities, records on human rights and justice (recognition of and adherence to international conventions), and national attitudes towards security are also considered. Every entry also includes an assessment of current and potential security issues and an analysis of current terrorist threats that may already be in place or that are beginning to develop in various nations. Each entry concludes with a summary of current relationships with the United States. Those relationships are defined by the indentification and brief analysis of formal trade, aid, or military treaties in place between the United States and other nations, the general attitude of a nation's citizenry and its government towards the U.S., and, finally, indentifying any social and cultural links between nations and the U.S. (migration patterns, language, economies). Finally, possible changes and trends that will impact security issues are identified by the contributors. Taken in their entirety, these encyclopedias contain a wealth of information in a concise format that will serve as a valuable reference guide not only for specialists, but general readers as well.
A comprehensive and integrated military, political, and strategic history of World War II, ranging from the daily life of conscripts and civilians to operational and strategic decision making at the highest levels. Filled with up-to-date scholarship yet supremely manageable and accessible, The Concise Encyclopedia of World War II offers the opportunity to explore a conflict that remains a source of fascination for scholars, students, and general readers alike. From the battlefields to the corridors of power, from the barracks to the home front, The Concise Encyclopedia of World War II provides a complete portrait of the war. Entries not only address major battles and campaigns, but political, economic, and cultural issues as well, plus brief portraits of the conflict's commanding personalities. Its global perspective notably corrects the usual Western focus of World War II studies, incorporating a wealth of information on often underreported topics such as the Eastern Front and the Sino-Japanese War. Hundreds of concise entries on all facets of World War II, ranging well beyond the typical focus on the West and on battle-to-battle recaps 100 photos and 20 maps offer important information about World War II
An unprecedented achievement in publishing--a multivolume encyclopedic resource, for both the general reader and specialist--on the central conflict of the 20th century, The Encyclopedia of World War II covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society. A monumental five-volume work, The Encyclopedia of World War II is an achievement in scholarship that surpasses all such efforts on World War II before it. From the conflict's historic origins to VJ Day and beyond, it offers readers unprecedented coverage of all aspects of the war as it played out in the corridors of power, in the minds of military strategists, on the battlefields, and in the lives of ordinary soldiers and civilians. Full of fascinating characters and insights, including a wealth of new information and new thinking about the war's events and impact, The Encyclopedia of World War II will stand as the definitive single reference on the subject for years to come. With over one million words of richly illustrated text, it covers every important battle and weapon system; individual nations and geographic locations; and political, social, and military leaders. Featured essays offer deeper analyses of crucial events such as Pearl Harbor, the Holocaust, the atomic bomb, and other fascinating topics. Providing its content is an incomparable team of international academics and independent historians. Volume five, the documents volume, is unmatched in breadth and depth and includes primary sources such as important official writings and personal reminiscences of the war's key events. * Over 1,400 A-Z entries, including lengthy biographies of individuals, studies of battles, details of weapons systems, and analyses of wartime conferences, crucial battlefield and diplomatic turning points, and lingering historical controversies * Over 270 contributors, including an unprecedented number of international authorities (many from Japan and China), giving the work a global perspective no other encyclopedia on World War II can match * A wealth of primary documents, ranging from official documents to personal correspondence, is included in a separate volume * An introductory section with 70 detailed geopolitical and military maps providing a clear orientation for proceeding with research into specific topics and events, as well as 300 photographs, illustrations, charts, and tables * Includes a discussion of military ranks of the major warring powers and a lengthy comparative table of officers and enlisted men
Encyclopedia of the Cold War by Ruud van Dijk (Editor); Svetlana Savranskaya (Editor); William Glenn Gray (Editor); Jeremi Suri (Editor); Qiang Zhai (Editor)
Call Number: History Reference D840 .E625 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
Between 1945 and 1991, tension between the USA, its allies, and a group of nations led by the USSR, dominated world politics. This period was called the Cold War - a conflict that stopped short to a full-blown war. Benefiting from the recent research of newly open archives, the Encyclopedia of the Cold War discusses how this state of perpetual tensions arose, developed, and was resolved. This work examines the military, economic, diplomatic, and political evolution of the conflict as well as its impact on the different regions and cultures of the world. Using a unique geopolitical approach that will present Russian perspectives and others, the work covers all aspects of the Cold War, from communism to nuclear escalation and from UFOs to red diaper babies, highlighting its vast-ranging and lasting impact on international relations as well as on daily life. Although the work will focus on the 1945-1991 period, it will explore the roots of the conflict, starting with the formation of the Soviet state, and its legacy to the present day.
Cold War by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: D840 .C645 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
The impact of the Cold War is still being felt around the world today. This insightful single-volume reference captures the events and personalities of the era, while also inspiring critical thinking about this still-controversial period. * Several analytical essays by prominent historians, plus 85 additional A-Z reference entries about conflicts, incidents, leaders, and issues * 35 examples of relevant primary source documents, including speeches, treaties, policy statements, and letters, such as the Marshall Plan and Winston Churchill's "Iron Curtain" speech * A detailed chronology of important events that occurred before, during, and after the Cold War * Numerous maps and images of key leaders and events * A comprehensive bibliography of print resources
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Marxism covers of the basics of Karl Marx's thought, the philosophical contributions of later Marxist theorists, and the extensive real-world political organizations and structures his work inspired--that is, the myriad political parties, organizations, countries, and leaders who subscribed to Marxism as a creed. This text includes a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, both thinkers and doers; political parties and movements; and major communist or ex-communist countries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Marxism.
Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations by Richard C. S. Trahair; Robert L. Miller (Preface by)
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room UB270 .T73 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
The cold war officially lasted from 1945 to 1991; however, many operations and individual spies often are found beyond these dates, with some previously unknown operations and names having surfaced only recently. Based on all the latest research, the core part of the book consists of over 330 individual entries that include biographical accounts of the lives and operations the individual spies and secret agents took part in. In support of the entries, the book provides important useful tools: a complete chronology of significant espionage activities; a glossary of key terms and figures providing additional background to the entries; references to other sources, either in print or electronic formats; and extensive cross-references for all entries. Reaching as far back as 1917 and the Soviet seizure of power in Russia, Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations covers the entire range of Soviet Bloc and Western espionage. The book explores in depth the critical cold war years, 1945–1991, alongside all the extended ramifications of espionage, up to the spies and operations most recently unveiled. The bulk of the entries centers on the cold war conflict of the United States and NATO-allied countries against the USSR and Communist China, though many other countries were involved in cold war espionage operations as well. Selected fictional characters and operations created by John LeCarr#65533;, Ian Fleming, and Robert Littell are also included in a separate section due to the image, accurate or imaginary, of the intelligence operative that was either reviled by the professionals or enthusiastically embraced by the general public.
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations by Oliver Ramsbotham; Tom Woodhouse
Call Number: JZ6374 .R36 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations analyzes the broad national, regional, cultural, and international contexts of peacekeeping. Special focus is placed on such contemporary issues as human rights, peacebuilding from below, conflict resolution theory, civilian peacekeeping, gender considerations, and women in peacekeeping. The coverage is enhanced by a chronology, charts, maps, a list of acronyms, an annotated bibliography, and references to key websites.
The Harry S. Truman Encyclopedia by Richard S. Kirkendall (Editor)
Call Number: E814 .H336 1989
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
The second volume in Hall's Presidential enclyclopedia series, this reference contains more than 300 biographical and topical articles by eminent historians, political scientists and economists on every aspect of Harry S. Truman's life and times.
The Law of Armed Conflict and the Use of Force by Frauke Lachenmann (Editor); Rüdiger Wolfrum (Editor)
Call Number: KZ6385 .L382 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-22
This volume brings together articles on the law of armed conflict and the use of force from the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, the definitive reference work on international law. It provides an invaluable resources for scholars, students, and practitioners of international humanitarian law, giving an accessible, thorough overview of all aspects of the field. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. Articles can also be set as readings for students on taught courses.
Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick by John M. Dobson
Call Number: E183.7 .D59 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
This encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the concepts, traditions, events, and individuals that shaped United States' foreign relations from the American Revolution to the present. * Five chronologically arranged sections, each with an introduction that describes key events and relationships * Over 200 chronological and alphabetic listings of major concepts and events in the history of American foreign relations as well as brief biographical entries on individuals who made major diplomatic contributions * Excerpts from a number of key foreign policy documents, statements, and treaties that relate to the subject and individual entries * Maps Illustrating the results of various treaties and international agreements as well as photographs and illustrations of key individuals and events * Bibliographic listings of print and online resources for each entry, enabling readers to explore topics further * A comprehensive index plus alphebetical and subject area listings of entries in each section
Weapons of Mass Destruction by Jeffrey A. Larsen (Editor); James J. Wirtz (Editor); Eric A. Croddy (Editor)
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room U793 .W427 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
The first accessible reference to cover the history, context, current issues, and key concepts surrounding biological, chemical, and nuclear weapons. * Over 500 A-Z entries written by 95 international experts, organized in two volumes divided by types of weapons * Timeline that covers leading political, military, and weapons-specific events since 1945 * Excerpts from key international documents * Combined index (with volume numbers noted) at the end of each volume * Includes numerous illustrations and photographs
Encyclopedia of the Atomic Age by Rodney P. Carlisle (Editor)
Call Number: QC773 .E49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
The last half of the 20th century has often been called the Atomic Age, a name that has not faded even with the end of the cold war. Nuclear testing in India and Pakistan
Spaceflight by Patrick J. Walsh
Call Number: Engineering Library TL788 .W35 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
This book is a comprehensive history of the first six decades of space exploration, from the end of World War II to the modern era of routine international cooperation in space. * Comprises 700 A-Z entries covering every human spaceflight and all significant robotic space exploration programs, with hundreds of biographical entries * Includes 148 beautiful and historic photographs illustrating all major articles, including international (non-U.S., non-Russian) space programs, action photos showing astronauts and cosmonauts at work in space, and photos of space vehicles and equipment * Provides bibliographic listings, organized by topic, of print and online sources for further reading * Includes complete chronologies of the space shuttle and Soyuz programs through 2008
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Space by Isabelle Sourbès-Verger; Fernand Verger; Isabelle Sourbes-Verger; Raymond Ghirardi; Xavier Pasco (Contribution by); Frances Brown (Translator); John M. Logsdon (Foreword by); Stephen Lyle (Translator); Paul Reilly (Translator)
Call Number: Lewis Library TL788 .V48 2002
Publication Date: 2003-08-21
Since the launch of Sputnik in 1957, over 8000 satellites and spacecraft have been launched from over 30 countries, costing hundreds of billions of dollars. Over 350 people have made the incredible journey beyond our atmosphere and we all benefit in countless ways from the use of space. This unique Encyclopedia aims to give a global perspective of our occupation and use of space, whether scientific, industrial, commercial, technical or military. After setting the stage by describing the space environment, orbits and ground tracks, launchers and launch sites, the authors go on to discuss the main space applications (telecommunications, navigation and Earth observation, military), plus science missions, planetary exploration and space stations. The wealth of full-colour illustrations make all the information highly accessible, resulting in an invaluable source for everyone interested in our use of space, and the perfect reference book for those working in, or studying, the space arena.