Information about health policy is found in books; journal and newspaper articles; reports from think tanks and research centers; government publications and web pages; and datasets. Use the tabs at the left to find specific types of resources. In addition, you are welcome to make an appointment with Joann to or Fernando help navigate these sources or locate materials not covered in this guide.
These sources are a good starting point to find information about the health systems status, infrastructure, demographics, etc. of the country of interest.
***Encyclopedia of Global Health by 
***Comparative health systems : a global perspective by 
*** World Health Systems by 
The Quality of Health and Education Systems Across Africa : Evidence from a Decade of Service Delivery Indicators Surveys. by 
Comparative Health Policy in the Asia Pacific by Commonwealth Fund International Health Policy Center - ***international health system profiles, health system features, and health and system statistics for selected countries, including: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, England, France, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, USA.
European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies - Analysis and profiles of the European health care systems. Affiliated with the World Health Organization (WHO). Hint: Click "Countries" on the top bar.
World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Observatory - Country data from the WHO.
*** Demographic and Health Surveys Hint: Search for Country in the Search Box Country Quick Facts and Reports - Published by the DHS Program and USAID. Collects, analyzes and disseminates data and reports about population, health, HIV, and nutrition on over 90 countries.
*** HINT: When searching Google or Google Scholar, add the following:
site:(country domain) (e.g., if searching for documents from Kenya: "health policy" site:.ke )
When seeking a research topic, it is often helpful to peruse reference publications, such as subject specific encyclopedias and handbooks, for summaries and overviews. The bibliographies of relevant entries and essays can provide a starting point for sources when conducting literature searches and reviews. Below are some suggested sources for health policy:
Routledge Handbook on the Politics of Global Health by 
Praeger Handbook of Black American Health : Policies and Issues Behind Disparities in Health by 
Encyclopedia of Health Economics by 
Health Care Policy and Politics a to Z by Getting started with a citation management system will help you save and organize your resources and make creating a bibliography much simpler! Sign up for a Zotero workshop.
