Skip to main content

European Union Documents: Places to Start

INTRODUCTORY TREATISES AND TEXTS

European Union Encyclopedia and Directory (annual, published by Routledge)

Firestone Library HC241.2 .E8334 Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Ready Ref. 

Encyclopedia of the European Union

Firestone Library    JN30 .E52 2000
Articles on topics related to the EU are included in this single volume along with a chronology of key events in the development of the EU up to 1998.

John Peterson and Michael Shackleton, eds., The Institutions of the European Union
Firestone Library JN30 .I578 2012 
This introductory text provides a detailed look at the principal institutions of the EU.  Each chapter is written by a different EU expert or scholar.

T.C. Hartley, The Foundations of European Community Law
Firestone Library  KJE947 .H37 2007
This book is a good introduction to the law of the European Union. Chapter 1 describes the legal basis for and function of the European Commission, the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament. Chapter 2 describes the structure and function of the EU’s judicial system – the European Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance.

Ralph Folsom, European Union Law in a Nutshell 
Trustees Reading Room, A Level, Firestone Library KJE 949.E976
Part of the West nutshell series, this basic guide is a good starting point for many researchers unfamiliar with the European Union.

Klaus-Dieter Borchardt, The ABC of European Union Law. Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2010. 
Brief summary of EU institutions and the sources of European Union law.

 

Dictionaries and Directories

Eric Davies, Eurojargon : a dictionary of European Union acronyms, abbreviations and terminology
Trustees Reading Room, Firestone Library  HC240 .E748 2004
Exhaustive list of acronyms used by EU agencies and officials.

Glossary: Institutions, Policies and Enlargement of the European Union. Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 2000. 
Firestone Library (F)  Oversize JN30 .G566 2000q 
A selective list of terms and concepts related to the EU.

EU Who Is Who
Maintained by the European Commission, this database provides contact information for senior personnel of the European Union. Searchable by name, agency, or hierarchical structure.

Additional Places for Help

RESEARCH GUIDES

European Union Legal Materials
Columbia University Law School

European Union Research Guide
Georgetown University Law School

Law Library Journal and NYU GlobaLex

European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User's Guide (PDF Version)


European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User's Guide (HTML Version)

LLRX.com
European Union Law: An Integrated Guide to Electronic and Print Research

Marylyn Raisch, "European Union: Basic Legal Sources," Chapter 8 in Jeanne Rehberg and Radu D. Popa, Accidental Tourist on the New Frontier: An Introductory Guide to Global Legal Research (1998).
Trustees Reading Room Reference, Firestone Library  K85 .A27 1998