This guide will assist you in conducting library research and in using the Princeton University Library resources and services. Use the tabs to start exploring the variety of tools and resources to assist you with your research. If you have any questions about doing basic or in-depth library research relating to chemistry, please contact me.
Thank you, and enjoy the day!
Meet Our Specialists – Emily Wild
SciFinder-n – Chemical Abstracts – What is it? Subscription database with comprehensive coverage of chemical structures, reactions, and references, includes Chemical Abstracts and Medline http://library.princeton.edu/resource/4683 - for remote access, use https://scifinder-n-cas-org.ezproxy.princeton.edu/
REAXYS – Beilstein/Gmelin – What is it? Electronic access to the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Excellent to use to find chemical and physical property. https://library.princeton.edu/resource/title/reaxys
PubChem – What is it? PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
Medline – What is it? A bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information.
Scopus – What is it? Citation database with abstracts and linked references. https://library.princeton.edu/resource/4440
Web of Science – What is it? Citation database with abstracts and linked references. http://library.princeton.edu/resource/4136
Patents – What are they? 60% of chemistry research is published in Patents.
How to get them? Patents worldwide are free full text online, from Google (easiest)
https://patents.google.com and World patents are free and mostly full text online, from espacenet https://worldwide.espacenet.com
Minerals – Composition, location, atomic weights of elements, and more
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Minerals Program: http://minerals.usgs.gov
USGS Mineral Publications: https://www.usgs.gov/energy-and-minerals/mineral-resources-program/publications
USGS Mineral Laboratories: https://www.usgs.gov/energy-and-minerals/mineral-resources-program/science/support-activities
USGS Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data: https://mrdata.usgs.gov/
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Atomic Weights: https://iupac.org/what-we-do/periodic-table-of-elements/
USGS Atomic Weights Research: https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/search?q=Atomic+Weights
ACS Author Lab Modules in Canvas https://princeton.instructure.com/courses/5437
ACS Style Guide for Scholarly Communication https://pubs.acs.org/doi/book/10.1021/acsguide
Library Catalog (the Books+ tab on the library website, https://library.princeton.edu/) – What is it? Index of all the books and journals owned or subscribed to by Princeton University Library. Tip - to find journals do a “Journal Title” search in the catalog.