Research Guides: White Collar Crime: White Collar Crime

Catalog Subject Headings

In the catalog, use the following subject headings:

White collar crime

White collar crime investigation

White collar crimes

Spotlight Book

White-Collar and Corporate Crime by Gilbert Geis; Henry N. Pontell (Contribution by) In this brief, accessible text, Gilbert Geis provides a thorough overview of white-collar crime. Geis opens with a summary of the field's development and the recognition of white-collar crime as an area worthy of study. He then discusses the fascinating history of white-collar crime, examines the phenomenon of corporate crime, and explores the definitions of these crimes and the theories used to explain them. About the Series Keynotes in Criminology and Criminal Justice, edited by Henry N. Pontell, provides essential knowledge on important contemporary matters of crime, law, and justice to a broad audience of readers. Each volume is written by a leading scholar in that area. Concise, accessible, and affordable, these texts are designed to serve either as primers around which courses can be built or as supplemental books for a variety of courses.
Call Number: Firestone Library (F) HV6768 .G453 2016
ISBN: 9780190219284
Publication Date: 2015-11-03

Background Sources

Corporate Crime, CQ Researcher, Volume 12, Issue 35 October 11, 2002. Written in the wake of the Enron, Worldcom and Martha Stewart scandals. (Princeton Only)

Encyclopedia of white-collar and corporate crime. Edited by Lawrence M. Salinger. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2013 (2nd edition). 2 vols. (Princeton Only)

Encyclopedia of white-collar crime. Edited by Jurg Gerber and Eric L. Jensen. Westport. Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007. Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) HV6768 .E65 2007. [View Catalog Record]

Bureau of Justice Statistics: White Collar Crime

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI):

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) System Includes reports covering Financial Crimes, including embezzlement and fraud (2005-2011) and The Measurement of White-Collar Crime Using Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Data, a helpful National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) report.
White-Collar Crime topic section

White-Collar Crime Stories - news stories about government investigations.

Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) (Syracuse University) - TracFed's Criminal Enforcement section includes statistics and reports on various types of white collar crime (note: when in the Trac Data Interpreter tool, White Collar Crime is a "program area." To view statistics on specific types of white collar crime, select those in the "Program (detailed)" menu.)

Journals

Bulletin on economic crime enforcement. U.S. Department of Justice. 1979- .

Vol. 8, no. 1-v. 11 (with missing issues). Location: Government Documents Collection (DOCS), call no. J 1.3:

Vol. 12, no. 2 (June 1993) {latest issue published} at Government Documents Collection (DOCS). Microforms, call no. J 1.3:

White-collar crime reporter - full-text of 2000-2005 issues from Factiva

Library Databases

Wharton Research Data Service (Princeton only) This link opens in a new window
Interface to various financial and economic databases including Compustat, CRSP, IBES, Optionmetrics, and TAQ.
Requires user to validate through password (request may take up to 48 hours and is for academic purposes at Princeton University only; undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member).

RepRisk covers issues including: Corruption, Bribery, Extortion and Money Laundering; Executive Compensation Issues; Tax Evasion.