Skip to main content

Unions

Catalog Subject Headings

In the catalog, use the following subject headings:

Guilds

Labor union

Labor unions

Labor Unions

Syndicalism

Unions

 

If searching for a particular occupational group, perform a subject search for that occupational group and the word "union."

Example:   automobile   Search in: Subject    AND   union     Search in: Subject

 

Related PUL Research Guides

Print Resources

Directory of U.S. labor organizations, Bureau of National Affairs
Firestone Library (F) HD6504 .D57
1982/1983 ed.-current
Current volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Ready Reference HD6504 .D57
[View Catalog Record]
 

Union membership and earnings data book: compilations from the Current Population Survey, Bureau of National Affairs
Firestone Library (F) HD6508.U546
1993-current (lacks 1995)
Current volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Ready Reference HD6508.U546
[View Catalog Record]

Public Opinion

To learn more about public opinion regarding unions, try these polling/survey databases [Princeton only]:

 

Free, publicly available resource:

The Pew Research Center's "Business and Labor" topic features reports and datasets that capture public opinion regarding unions.

General Information: outside U.S.

"...includes data on trade union membership, trade union density and collective bargaining coverage."

Explore and compare labor union information within and between countries.

General Information: U.S.

"...the single most comprehensive database of information about labor unions in the United States. The database contains more than 100 million facts, ranging from basic union finances and leader salaries, to political operations, to strikes and unfair labor practices, and much more. The data comes from various local, state, and federal government agencies that track labor union operations."

Under right-to-work laws, states are authorized to determine whether workers are required to join a labor union to obtain or keep a job.

Union reports, constitutions, bylaws, and other reports
From this site:

  • search the union annual financial reports for the year 2000 and after.
  • view and print reports filed by unions, union officers and employees, employers, and labor relations consultants for the year 2000 and after, and
  • order copies of reports for the year 1999 and prior.

Also,"display and print facsimiles of labor organization financial reports, and retrieve other union and financial data. Select results you wish to save and generate a number of reports comparing data saved from multiple searches."

"...shortcut to information and services the Department of Labor (DOL) offers labor unions."

Online Directories

Spotlight Reports

Bargaining for the American Dream: What Unions do for Mobility by Richard Freeman, Eunice Han, David Madland, and Brendan V. Duke (Center for American Progress, September 2015).

This report examines the relationship between economic mobility and union membership. Contains area-level and individual-level analyses.

 

The Unions of the States, Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR), 2010

This report uses Current Population Survey microdata pooled for the period 2003-2009 to review "unionization rates, the size and composition of the unionized workforce, and the wage and benefit advantage for union workers in each of the states and the District of Columbia."

"State-level data include gender, race, Hispanic origin, educational attainment, immigrant status, manufacturing and government workers, the union wage premium, and health insurance and retirement plan coverage."